Grandma's Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Really very ggod. I will cut back on the sugar next time but some vanilla ice cream would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Quick, Easy, and Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
These are delicious and so easy to make! I have made this dessert several times by now. I do ususally substitute fuji apples and 1/3 cup of brown sugar instead since I feel 3/4 would make it way too sweet. Definitely have them with vanilla ice cream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I haven't made this recipe, but ate it at a church supper tonight, and it's WONDERFUL. The cook told me this is one recipe that will not get soggy like those made with a homemade flour dough, so is just as good the next day. Too, she'd doubled or tripled the recipe for a packed pan larger than a 9 X 13. Each dumpling could be easily lifted from the pan, and they were so pretty & plump. Her husband mentioned to the ladies in the kitchen that all that was needed was a pint of ice cream! Yes, this is definitely a 5 STAR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I just made this tonite for our dessert after supper, My husband said that he liked these better then the ones that I bought 2 weeks ago (Fundraisor), and thay are not hard to do very easy recipe, but I do have to say I didnt add the orange juice that it calls for only beacuse I didnt have any, and they where very good. Its a keeper =) =) =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bever-li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was the best, the fastest and the easiest recipe ever. Can't wait till my family comes over cause I will be making this again. The kids will love it. I didn't change anything, but I did throw in some chopped walnuts. Had some whipped cream but the Vanilla Ice Cream will be next. YUMMY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Definitely a 5 star recipe. Had raves about these dumplings and they were so easy to make. I made the recipe as is and found it a bit sweet. That's simple to fix. I had extra apple pieces so I just added them around the dumplings. That was a plus. Took the advice of another reviewer and covered the dish for the last half of the cooking time. A recipe that is so easy and receives such great compliments is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Delicious! Very rich (maybe a bit much for me, I think I'll cut back on the sugar a little next time.) I did use apple juice in place of orange juice because that's what I happened to have in the fridge. Very simple to make, and I agree with the reviewer who said to cover it halfway through baking. But they were tender, soft, and tasty for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rinard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I made this with a can of peaches in light syrup instead of apples and orange juice. I used one or two slices of peach per roll, depending on the size of the peach slices. I used the leftover juice from the can, which ended up to be about 1/2 a cup of juice, and used cranberry juice to fill to the rest of the 3/4. This was fantastic, and made my house smell delicious! Will definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States