Grandma's Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Made this for a party and it was a huge hit! I also cut the orange juice in half. I covered the pan with aluminum foil until the last 10 minutes of baking then basted the dumplings with the sauce. My guest were spooning the sauce over vanilla ice cream it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Yum! My husband raved about this (he's not a dessert guy at all). Since other reviewers mentioned cutting down the OJ and the fact that I had lots of oranges on hand, I used the juice from 4 to make a 1/2 cup. If one really likes the OJ taste, could use more, but 1/2 c. did it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I agree about the oj being overpowering...any suggestions for an oj substitute?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestburg, Texas, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
replace orange juice with 1/2 cup of apple cider ( in season) Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvsfood2much

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Extremely easy and semi-homemade! To make the apples melt into the pastry, I quartered the apples and then thinly sliced them before wrapping them in the pastry - this allowed them to cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Really very ggod. I will cut back on the sugar next time but some vanilla ice cream would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Quick, Easy, and Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
These are delicious and so easy to make! I have made this dessert several times by now. I do ususally substitute fuji apples and 1/3 cup of brown sugar instead since I feel 3/4 would make it way too sweet. Definitely have them with vanilla ice cream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States