Grandma's Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Have made this recipe 3 times in the last 2 months. It is amazing. The only difference was I used Jona Gold apples. I served it with homemade whipped cream. It is a new family favorite. So delish and so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Wright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Photo by pchanner
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Love love, so moist. I am using less orange juice each time so they aren't as soupy but love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is delicious. I didn't have OJ so I used a half cup of my daughters Sunny D. :-) I also covered with aluminum foil the first 20 minutes because I wanted the dough to be soft and not crispy. Brush with butter before baking and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. Poured the juice in the bottom of the dish. While baking I spooned it over each dumpling. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Used crescent rolls instead of biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Loved them! Wasn't sure about the orange juice but they were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Neat idea. I sliced the quarters into three but the apples still needed a bit longer to cook. Halved the sauce & it was just the right amount, the sauce is very tasty! I covered the dish for 15 and uncovered for 15, maybe next time I would leave uncovered to get a little crust on the top of the dumplings. For leftovers, I broiled the dumplings at 500 degrees for 6 minutes. To me this was comfort food-ish, hubby did not care for the dish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Made this for a party and it was a huge hit! I also cut the orange juice in half. I covered the pan with aluminum foil until the last 10 minutes of baking then basted the dumplings with the sauce. My guest were spooning the sauce over vanilla ice cream it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Yum! My husband raved about this (he's not a dessert guy at all). Since other reviewers mentioned cutting down the OJ and the fact that I had lots of oranges on hand, I used the juice from 4 to make a 1/2 cup. If one really likes the OJ taste, could use more, but 1/2 c. did it for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I agree about the oj being overpowering...any suggestions for an oj substitute?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestburg, Texas, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States