Grandma's Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Very tasty and so simple. Followed recipe as written, I was a little short on sugar but it didn't seem to matter. I had extra apple so I just added to dish next to wrapped pasty and they just cooked in the juices and were delicious. I topped with non-fat Cool Whip - it was great. This is a recipe I will make again and do recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is my new go-to recipe for apple dumplings. I have tried the recipes where the liquid is 7up or Mt. Dew and loved them. This is better! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Cook
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Everyone loved these dumplings! After reading some comments, I used a tiny bit less sugar and butter and it was perfect. I also covered the dish the first 20 mins of cooking and 10mins uncovered. This allowed the apples to get tender and the cresent rolls would cook to fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I didn't have any orange juice so I used apple juice instead. It was delicious! I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Hubby LOVES these! Orange juice makes these absolutely delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Fixed this numerous, numerous times & it always turns out to be absolutely perfect. The only thing I did differently was add the cinnamon to my sauce mixture & sprinkled apple pie spice on top before baking. The sauce is way too yummy - gonna experiment with the sauce using some apple cider with the OJ - fixing the crescent rolls with some butter & cinnamon sugar - then pour the hot sauce over the crescents & bake. My 4 yr old granddaughter loves, loves the sweet crust (as does most everybody else)but she gives me her baked apple in exchange for my crust. I'll be back to tell how the experiment goes. Could this be called "GRAM'S APPLESS DUMPLING"? Thanks for all the wonderful recipes ---- DianneP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rossville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mz Toni
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Made this today with pears and biscuits, my son loved it. It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Very easy to make. I substituted apple juice for the orange juice and omitted the vanilla (we were out). The only regret I have is that there was no vanilla ice cream in the house to go along with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandiNicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great Recipe!! I use 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of white sugar. I melt these with the butter and bring them to a rolling boil for 2 minutes before adding the cinnamon and vanilla and pouring over the dumplings. I have made these several times and they are always a hit!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Killer dumpling recipe! I made these with my two-and-a-half-year-old: she had tons of fun wrapping the apples and helping pour the ingredients together. Added a dash of cloves and some orange zest (just because I had a half-dead orange that had been abandonded in the fruit bowl for a few weeks). Delicious! I didn't cover them and they came out just fine - crispy on the top, but not dark. This is going into my regular rotation of "things to do with leftover apples."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States