Grandman Pork Chops and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
We have a large family so I had 2 skillets going (8 pork chops) and I added 1 can diced tomatoes with green chilis split between the two and 1 packet Sazon goya seasoning per skillet. I cooked a lot of rice and just added until it looked a tiny bit soupy so it wouldn't be dry the next day for my husband's lunch. Very tasty and fairly quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
My fiance and I thought this was great! I added a tbls. of oil, 1 green bell pepper, left out the last 1/2 cup of water and taco sauce. Would be great w/ catfish simmered in it also. Tasted just like a cajun courtbouillon (koo-bee-yawh)sauce. Thanks! (oh, I also added a Goya packet like someone else suggested)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
I really liked this recipe, but I made a few changes. I used brown rice instead of white, and I used hot picante sauce instead of regular taco sauce. Very good with these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
This "soupy" rice mixture complimented the pork chops. The meal was good, but not great. It's a quick middle-of-the-week type of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
yummy! but I've added a can of diced tomatoes with mild green chiles when i add the tomato soup. it gives it that much more of an authentic spanish rice flavor without adding any heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I substituted brown rice for white and reduced the 3/4 c. of water to 1/4 c. I also used Campbell's Recipe Collection Tomato with Garlic and Herbs Soup for added flavor. I already gave this recipe to a friend and she also liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
too bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
The three of us all rated this 3 stars. We all felt it needed something else, maybe it was the tomato soup. Might be better using tomato sauce. I skipped the part of simmering in 3/4 cup water and just simmered the chops in the soup and 1/2 cup water and it was more than enough liquid. I added more than 2 tbsp taco sauce and we added some hot sauce. It was good, just not our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
VERY tasty! i covered chops during first simmer, eliminated second addition of water and also spooned sauce onto rice instead of adding rice to skillet---for faster eating when you are less concerned about presentation--cut chops into bite sized pieces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2001
The pork chops stayed juicy which is a definite plus. I added corn and a Goya seasoning packet to the rice. I spooned enough sauce on the rice instead of transferring it to the skillet, since I read that it could be mushy. Didn't go over well with the boyfriend, but I thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States