Grandman Pork Chops and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Good with modifications such as reducing the water to a 1/2 cup at most. Also instead of taco sauce we used salsa, the extra zip it gave it was very much needed. Overall a more than decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Although the rice didn't turn out in the slightest bit Mexican-y, this was a pretty decent meal. I used V8 veggie juice instead of water, and also sauteed a couple of sliced serrano peppers along with the onions and garlic. If there is a next time, I will use canned diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup - the sauce was a too sweet for my taste. Husband also suggested sprinkling some fresh cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I really like the base for this recipe but hate using water, it doesnt create enough flavor!! I used a can of diced tomatoes instead. It turned out great. I also substitued tomatoe sauce for soup because I didnt have any on hand! But all together a great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Made this for the second time and added a little extra rice and some green chili. It was good, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
excellent i used just garlic powder and i used substitute tomato sauce and it came out great. all my teenager boys loved it and the hubby to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Easy to make. Recipe is similar to my mexican pork chops. Everyone in my family loved it. My husband especialy loves the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I loved this! Very different from traditional tomoato sauce dishes. I never thought to use tomatoe soup! We added more taco seasoning and also some hot sauce. Next time I will skip adding more water at the end. Very tasty thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe was not our favorite, it was too tomatoey and very bland. It did not taste much like mexican rice and the pork chops were just okay. I am definitely going to try a baked chop recipe and add some more spices next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I loved this recipe. My husband found it a little spicy...but for me, it was perfect. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I read the reviews and took some advice from each one. I used 2 cans of the garlic tomato sauce, added a can of diced green chilies and didn't add the extra water at the end. I also put the sauce over the rice instead of adding it in. My family really liked it. It was a very easy and fast dinner. My kids even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States