Grandman Pork Chops and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Good with modifications such as reducing the water to a 1/2 cup at most. Also instead of taco sauce we used salsa, the extra zip it gave it was very much needed. Overall a more than decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Although the rice didn't turn out in the slightest bit Mexican-y, this was a pretty decent meal. I used V8 veggie juice instead of water, and also sauteed a couple of sliced serrano peppers along with the onions and garlic. If there is a next time, I will use canned diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup - the sauce was a too sweet for my taste. Husband also suggested sprinkling some fresh cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I really like the base for this recipe but hate using water, it doesnt create enough flavor!! I used a can of diced tomatoes instead. It turned out great. I also substitued tomatoe sauce for soup because I didnt have any on hand! But all together a great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Made this for the second time and added a little extra rice and some green chili. It was good, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
excellent i used just garlic powder and i used substitute tomato sauce and it came out great. all my teenager boys loved it and the hubby to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Easy to make. Recipe is similar to my mexican pork chops. Everyone in my family loved it. My husband especialy loves the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I loved this! Very different from traditional tomoato sauce dishes. I never thought to use tomatoe soup! We added more taco seasoning and also some hot sauce. Next time I will skip adding more water at the end. Very tasty thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe was not our favorite, it was too tomatoey and very bland. It did not taste much like mexican rice and the pork chops were just okay. I am definitely going to try a baked chop recipe and add some more spices next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I loved this recipe. My husband found it a little spicy...but for me, it was perfect. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I read the reviews and took some advice from each one. I used 2 cans of the garlic tomato sauce, added a can of diced green chilies and didn't add the extra water at the end. I also put the sauce over the rice instead of adding it in. My family really liked it. It was a very easy and fast dinner. My kids even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States