Grandma Wright's No Bakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Perfect recipe--my mom made these cookies and they taste just the same. You have to bring them to a FULL boil and then boil one minute, they won't set up right otherwise (i.e. you'll get goop). Also, use quick cook oats. The old-fashioned oats will give you a chewy, uncooked texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zilla
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I mix the cocoa (about an extra tablesoon) in with the sugar, BUTTER and milk before boiling, to eliminate lumps from the dry cocoa. Otherwise, spot-on, and killer NoBakes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Thank you for your pinpoint perfect directions. I did bring the mixture to a full boil just before timing, and I did use quick cook oats. I made these for the first time last week, and my family and all my drop-by guests loved them. Very easy to make. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
These go quick no matter who you're serving them to!! One year we made them as holiday gifts for my daughter's teachers and added a pretty card with the recipe on it - it was a hit!! Super-easy recipe and I usually have all of the ingredients on hand, so I can make them when I get a craving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Ive been using this recipe for years, but just now signed up on the site. I love this recipe, although I usually add a little more peanut butter and a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I've been making these for years and love them. I just wanted to mention that if you don't like chocolate they are just as good when it's left and it doesn't effect the texture. I've also added nuts or raisins to the chocolate cookies for a different taste. Great little cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
We made this recipe last night. Talk about goop. I am not sure what I expected. The taste is good, so I think it would be a fun toddler type recipe, but for adults it was laughable. I wish I could give advice on what to do to make it better, but truth be told, I don't think there is a way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahartfie
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Made these and they were just like the ones I remembered from my childhood 35 years ago. Not quite Proust's madeleines, but close! I mixed the cocoa into the butter/sugar/milk mixture before I turned on the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahartfie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
These were so easy and extremely yummy! I froze some and they froze well...they didn't last long, they were too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
There are many of these no bake recipes for this childhood favorite, but this is the only one that always comes out exactly as my memere used to make them! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bakes

See how to make a simple chocolate, peanut butter, and oatmeal cookie.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States