Grandma Weld's Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I've been making these for years. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Mcnicoll, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I needed a recipe for Chocolate Chip cookies that had no brown sugar because i was out of this ingrediant. This is the first recipe i came across and tried it. I too did not use salt but salted butter and it was delicious. The recipe was so easy that my 7 & 1/2 year daughter made them all by her self. My only suggestion is turning this fab recipe into a double batch because they go so fast you'll be lucky if you get more than one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dancing Queen
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I was wanting to make cookies, but my boyfriend didnt have any eggs so I thought I would try these. They would get a 5 star for easiness. But for flavor just a 3. I even added walnuts and honey because I feared they would be plain, and they were. Because they were so easy and required so little I will make them again but might try upping the extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I omitted chilling the dough because I found it tough and crumbly to begin with. These cookies taste OK, but are nothing special. They also take FOREVER to bake (mine took almost 20 minutes!) and it was really hard to tell when they were cooked because they didn't brown up at all. I tried this recipe because my usual recipe contains brown sugar and I was all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I doubled this recipe because I was trying to find something to make all at once to send to my husband and some to take to work. I didn't have any butter, just my luck, so I used crisco and added 6 tsp of water per cup. However...I have to make some more because they are almost gone!!...They are perfect and they will just crumble in your mouth!! I also put some raspberry jelly in the middle of them and then folded them over before baking and those were really yummy too!! Enjoy : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
theise cookies where the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Maybe I totally screwed up....but I don't think so. These weren't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Its a great recipe it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
These turned out wonderfully. I had to substitute 5T of the butter with salted butter (I ran out of unsalted) so I just ommitted the salt. It was a little difficult to tell when they were done and I overbaked the first sheet-full, but they still taste great. The consistency is like shortbread, so I had a few with my coffee this morning (I expect they'd be equally good with tea or hot cocoa.) Most of the batch I made are being sent to my boyfriend in the Army, but I brought the rest in to work and so far everyone seems to really like them. :) I will probably make these for Christmas gifts, although I think next time I'll roll them in crushed sliced almonds before baking. I might also try making batches entirely with almonds instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States