Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful recipe grandma knew what she was doing I have made this bread every three days for the last month cant keep it in the house We are eating some of it hot right out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and it is great. Not too dense, nice and fluffy. I freeze two of the loaves, and pull out of the freezer to thaw on the day I am going to bake them. Doesn't take long to thaw, and they still taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Very good recipe! I used only 7 cups of flour (Five Rose). I did one loaf, 6 Kaisers with sesame seeds and 3 Subs to make some sandwichs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Twice now agree lower heat and cover last 15 min,it was so good my wife and daughter will only eat this bread from now on.Easy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I love making bread and this recipe held up well to my extra ingredients, like shredded cheddar and onion flakes or garlic salt, oregano and parmesan. I roll out the bread and sprinkle my 'extras' on top then roll it back up, brush tops with egg yolk wash and sprinkle more of the 'extras' on top, pop it in the oven. No additional time is needed for the baking. The family and friends take big chunks slathered with butter and call it a meal! Even the white bread goes as fast as I can make it! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I bake bread at least 2 times a week. Have been doing this for 57 years. I love this recipe. It is old fashioned and really good. Turns out like bread is supposed to turn out. Thank you for sharing this. It is truly a treasure. Elly in Tacoma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made cinnamon rolls of the third portion of the bread loaves. (2loaves seemed enough).to my surprise they turned out to be 'the best' cinnamon rolls ever."The outside was light crisp while the inside was super fluffy".I had used all purpose flour, as bread flour wasn't available. The texture I got was the texture I had never got till date when using all purpose flour. There's something about the recipe I guess.After shaping the2loaves I made a mixture of brown sugar (dark)+melted butter+cinnamon+ zest of 1whole orange+walnuts. Spread it on the shaped rectangle, rolled, sealed&cut into 8pieces,which were of standard size.i did let them rest &rise for 35min while the loaves were baking.&then baked them for 20min at400°f(200°c) on bottom rack. What I got was out of the world.it didnt need any glaze or topping&was a complete balance of sweetness. The flavour was mind blowing. My darling hubby couldn't stop eating. ..What more can I say.thanks grandma & marylin from the very bottom of my heart, because the texture of bread & cinnamon rolls was the texture I ever imagined & that too using all purpose flour. No bread or croissant or pretzel till date gave me the quality & texture I always wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This recipe was just what I was looking for!!! Husbands been wanting bread and he absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Pretty good bread. Certainly better than any mega-store white bread. I do feel there is some room for improvement so I may try some other recipes on here before settling on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 616) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States