Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I make this bread all the time for potlucks. Turns out delicious. I always end up using less flour than the recipe calls for. Don't try to force too much in because then your bread will end up a dry and crumbly, and if your dough feels like it's too crumbly as you're kneading it add a little extra oil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Gibbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MWell
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
So easy and so delicious. A soft white bread. Perfect crumb. Watch the video. I didn't know what a sponge was related to making bread but the video shows how it should look. This is only my second time making bread and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
By far the best recipe i have ever used!! I substituted all-purpose flour instead of bread flour (which has more gluten) and it is delicious!! Nice n fluffy. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I made this in my KA. We enjoyed it but it was a bit too sweet for my taste. I made 2/3 of the recipe, 1/3 was the loaf and the other 1/3 I made into cinnamon buns. This recipe worked well for the buns as it was a tad sweet. I loved the texture and will make it again but will scale back the sugar considerably. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
My husband thought the bread was a bit "yeasty" but I really liked this bread. So, so simple to make. I cut the recipe to a third to just make one loaf and it was an easy peasy addition to dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, New York, USA
Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Geist
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
SO EASY! This is a delicious, light bread that rises quickly. Each step says you should wait about an hour in the video, however, I found that each step really only took 30-35 minutes. I think what makes this bread so great is the sponge rising technique. I yielded three high loaves of bread with this recipe. This is quite an easy recipe, especially if you have a mixer. I sent off one fresh loaf of this bread to a relative today! This is a bread recipe I am keeping and will be sharing with others :-) Note: You can also use all-purpose flour and the bread will still taste totally fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Geist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ishpeming, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Awesome and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
wonderfully good recipe. ... it's a keeper made exactly as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I have a question? at what point can this dough be frozen for baking later ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very easy and very soft bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 674) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States