Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is the easiest bread I have ever made! I have a huge household so I usually double the recipe on baking day and freeze uncooked dough (shaped in a loaf or rolls) for the following week. I've found in my area that I don't quite need all 8 cups of flour, depending on the humidity. I usually add 2 cups (after the yeast mixture has doubled), then add 1/2 cup at a time. Never a dense loaf yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbi LeMay West

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
A bit dry, and the directions for this bread would be very difficult for a novice bread-baker. Whenever the directions indicate to let the sponge or bread rise, I heated up my oven to 350 and then turned it off and opened the oven door, slipping the bowl of sponge or bread loaves onto the rack and letting rise for about 30 mins. Perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This recipe is an old one from the MI hillbilly's and its a good one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I've tried a lot of bread recipes with varying degrees of success but this was hands down the best recipe I have tried. Very tender yet chewy crust and soft center. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I love this recipe!! I also like to cut the ingredients in half To make pizza dough. I have 5 boys and 1girl and they all love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious bread. Much softer and fluffier than a lot of bread recipes that I've tried recently. Very light and airy, with a fantastic flavor. I used regular all-purpose flour instead of bread flour, but I'd love to give it a try with bread flour, too. I usually make two loaves of bread, then throw the rest into the fridge to make pizzas with later. This is now my go-to white bread recipe. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Gatley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I'm sure this recipe deserves more than 3 stars but the bread I made was just ok. I think my mistake was in using rapid rise yeast (dough cycle) instead of active dry which I didn't have. The Fleischmann's website said it could be used instead. The bread had a nice flavor, but didn't rise well. I will make this again this week and update my rating. With so many positive reviews, it has to be novice baker error. UPDATE: 2 WEEKS LATER - So I finally got over my failure with this recipe and decided to make it again. This time, I used SAF active dry yeast and King Arthur's bread flour. I knew this loaf would be different when the sponge doubled in less than 1 hour. The bread wasw absolutely delicious. My husband and I made turkey and provolone sandwiches with the warm bread. The texture was perfect. We just had the remaining half with scrambled eggs for breakfast. The entire loaf barely lasted 12 hours. Definitely five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
great recipe! used regular whole wheat flour and the reaukt was excellent. will make my own bread now. later will try adding seeds or raisins for variations. very easy to make and great taste, ain't grandma's cooking the best!! thanksnfor the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Actually really easy with a KitchenAide. I follow the recipe exactly but for baking only had mini loaf pans. Made 4mini loaves, a pan of cinnamon rolls and froze enough dough to make 3 more mini loaves later out of 1 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing this!!! I've been making bread for years but this was the best I've made. My 7 yr old was wanting to make bread like they did in "pioneer" days and I didn't want to figure that out so we gave this a try. WOW I am so glad we did. The only negative thing I have to say about this is that it completely ruined my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States