Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
First time I succeed in making bread and it's the best bread I ever have! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by @!nUm!ThU
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Awesome recipe best ever tried .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
It wasn't the simplest recipe, I wasn't completely satisfied with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WrennWillard
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This recipe is amazing. It turned out perfect. After it was finished I rubbed the top with real butter to add that sheen. Definitely using this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yojalma
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This bread came out to pure perfection. I used two 9x5 pan (I think, I may be off by half inch). This is my first time making any type of bread! I'm glad I chose the right recipe. I did not change a this. Also I wanted to add that I made it all in my Kitchen Aid stand mixer with the mixing blade first to mix the wet ingredients with the 4 cups of bread flour and the rest it calls for. After I let it rise I used the dough hook to mix the last 4 cups of flour. The dough was sticky but I did not add anything else, I just used oil on my hands to prevent it from sticking. My husband is so excited since he takes a sandwich to work daily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yojalma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I halved the recipe, dumped it all in the bread machine on Med. white and it was WONDERFUL. I had no idea what a sponge was, so ignored that step. (Afterwards re-read and figured it out, but this was a winner all on its own.) Bless our ancestors for passing recipes like these down... the wonderful women who made these recipes by hand - and how lucky I feel that I don't have to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe twice already, it is my new go to white bread recipe. Very simple and with the use of quick rise yeast you can skip the bowl rise (still need to do sponge rise) cutting out an hour of prep time. I used all purpose flour as I did not have bread flour, but it turned out beautifully! Thanks to another reviewer for that tip about the flour or I might not have made it! Have sent the link to family as well, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jordan Evans
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I have been using this recipe for a few years now, and recently switched to using half Goat Milk and half water. It is the most delicious and moist bread I have ever had and it doesn't fall apart after a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Better than me mums bread, I'll be using this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmagiggles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States