Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is an awesome recipe. It was a toss up between this and another bread recipe from this site after reading the response it was a no brainer. If you are looking for a good bread recipe that is hard to mess up and turns out great then this is the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
thank you for this awesome recipe...totally fail safe...soft and light...quick to make....I used regular flour and all is well...freezes well too....loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Worrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Not too hard, fun and very delicous ! I enjoyed making the recipe and it was fun , one of the best white bread recipes I have tried and it helped me with my science fair experiment .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincolnwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
My family just loves this bread! I just use 1/4 cup of honey instead of sugar, as we are cutting back on our sugar intake. I make it all the time and recently added wheat flour. Right now my family's favorite combination is 4 cups bread flour and 2 cups whole wheat. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
The bread is sooooo tasty, you can just eat it without a jam or butter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Very easy to prepare and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inez Quinn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Russell, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I make this recipe weekly and my family loves it. It's super easy to make and doesn't last more than a week in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Moates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
To say I'm an amateur baker is an understatement. I was raised with a grandmother who made home made biscuits for every meal but I'd never even seen loaves of bread be made nor did I even understand what all went into it. I seriously thought you just mixed everything up once, let it rise the threw it in the oven. With that being say, making bread the first time was an experience. I was impatient and exhausted by the end from all of the hurry up and wait. However, the first batch (and my first time baking) turned out amazing. Now I bake this bread almost every Sunday, and I've learned not to stress about how long steps take. I do a step, do a chore, do another step and so on. I've aldo started adding all kinds of things to this base receipe. I roll one loaf out long and cover it with butter, cinnamon and sugar then roll it up for cinnamon bread. I kneed in garlic salt and parsley and then roll the loave in it too for garlic bread. Most recently I added cheese, bacon and dried onions. As the loaves come out of the oven I'm trying to decide who gets what because the entire family now expects a loaf of bread on Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I make this bread all the time for potlucks. Turns out delicious. I always end up using less flour than the recipe calls for. Don't try to force too much in because then your bread will end up a dry and crumbly, and if your dough feels like it's too crumbly as you're kneading it add a little extra oil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Gibbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MWell
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
So easy and so delicious. A soft white bread. Perfect crumb. Watch the video. I didn't know what a sponge was related to making bread but the video shows how it should look. This is only my second time making bread and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States