Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
First off, I am no baker by any stretch of the imagination, nor cook for that matter. I do enjoy trying new recipes but not very often. What brought this recipe to light, I have no idea, but I am thrilled beyond words. I first was captured by the picture that remarkably looked just like what Grandma used to make. This is a feat in itself with 4000 +/- bread recipes online. I made the recipe the first time and overlooked letting it rise a second time, (remember... not a baker) I still loved the loaf, even though it was dense, the flavor and texture took me back 40 years. I nearly cried, no kidding. I couldn't wait to make the next batch and today was the day. (08-23-14) Unbelievable!!!! No reason on God's green earth to ever have store bought bread in the house. Tell me why we settled for anything less?? I tried to upload photo but haven't enough megapixels...whatever! I encourage everyone to give this a try. Thanks a million for sharing "Grandma Vandoren's" recipe. God Bless, Shalom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Gerity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swanton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is the easiest bread I have ever made! I have a huge household so I usually double the recipe on baking day and freeze uncooked dough (shaped in a loaf or rolls) for the following week. I've found in my area that I don't quite need all 8 cups of flour, depending on the humidity. I usually add 2 cups (after the yeast mixture has doubled), then add 1/2 cup at a time. Never a dense loaf yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbi LeMay West

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
A bit dry, and the directions for this bread would be very difficult for a novice bread-baker. Whenever the directions indicate to let the sponge or bread rise, I heated up my oven to 350 and then turned it off and opened the oven door, slipping the bowl of sponge or bread loaves onto the rack and letting rise for about 30 mins. Perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This recipe is an old one from the MI hillbilly's and its a good one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I've tried a lot of bread recipes with varying degrees of success but this was hands down the best recipe I have tried. Very tender yet chewy crust and soft center. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I love this recipe!! I also like to cut the ingredients in half To make pizza dough. I have 5 boys and 1girl and they all love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious bread. Much softer and fluffier than a lot of bread recipes that I've tried recently. Very light and airy, with a fantastic flavor. I used regular all-purpose flour instead of bread flour, but I'd love to give it a try with bread flour, too. I usually make two loaves of bread, then throw the rest into the fridge to make pizzas with later. This is now my go-to white bread recipe. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Gatley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I'm sure this recipe deserves more than 3 stars but the bread I made was just ok. I think my mistake was in using rapid rise yeast (dough cycle) instead of active dry which I didn't have. The Fleischmann's website said it could be used instead. The bread had a nice flavor, but didn't rise well. I will make this again this week and update my rating. With so many positive reviews, it has to be novice baker error. UPDATE: 2 WEEKS LATER - So I finally got over my failure with this recipe and decided to make it again. This time, I used SAF active dry yeast and King Arthur's bread flour. I knew this loaf would be different when the sponge doubled in less than 1 hour. The bread wasw absolutely delicious. My husband and I made turkey and provolone sandwiches with the warm bread. The texture was perfect. We just had the remaining half with scrambled eggs for breakfast. The entire loaf barely lasted 12 hours. Definitely five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
great recipe! used regular whole wheat flour and the reaukt was excellent. will make my own bread now. later will try adding seeds or raisins for variations. very easy to make and great taste, ain't grandma's cooking the best!! thanksnfor the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Actually really easy with a KitchenAide. I follow the recipe exactly but for baking only had mini loaf pans. Made 4mini loaves, a pan of cinnamon rolls and froze enough dough to make 3 more mini loaves later out of 1 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States