Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Really good, but I use a tad less sugar as I find that the 1/2 cup makes it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This bread is delicious! I notice other people have mentioned cutting the recipe into thirds to make only one loaf. Just a suggestion - you can also freeze some of the dough and bake it later. After the 2nd rise, shape the dough as you would to fit in your bread pan and wrap it in plastic wrap. I put my dough into freezer bags and label. When you want fresh bread you just remove the dough, unwrap, place into a greased bread pan, and let it thaw (about 4-6 hours). Then bake as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I use this recipe to make scones and they come out right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I decided to start making my own bread after reading labels on the store bought sliced bread. I like knowing exactly what's going into my bread. And this is a wonderful bread recipe! This is only my second time making bread but this was really good. I substituted vegetable oil for coconut oil and 2 cups of whole wheat flour out of the 8. Other than that I followed the recipe. I will be making this bread again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Delicious white bread. I make this all the time for family and friends; it's always a hit. This is my go-to recipe, especially if I need fresh bread in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is an awesome recipe. It was a toss up between this and another bread recipe from this site after reading the response it was a no brainer. If you are looking for a good bread recipe that is hard to mess up and turns out great then this is the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
thank you for this awesome recipe...totally fail safe...soft and light...quick to make....I used regular flour and all is well...freezes well too....loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Worrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Not too hard, fun and very delicous ! I enjoyed making the recipe and it was fun , one of the best white bread recipes I have tried and it helped me with my science fair experiment .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincolnwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
My family just loves this bread! I just use 1/4 cup of honey instead of sugar, as we are cutting back on our sugar intake. I make it all the time and recently added wheat flour. Right now my family's favorite combination is 4 cups bread flour and 2 cups whole wheat. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
The bread is sooooo tasty, you can just eat it without a jam or butter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States