Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Better than me mums bread, I'll be using this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmagiggles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Not really sure what went wrong.... I had such high hopes for this recipe.... after reading it and watching the video...but, it was one of the most disgusting breads I've ever had in my life.... extremely dense and smelled and tasted like beer. Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentina Burgos
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole Gorley
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
We've been through a few bread recipes lately, most of which haven't risen so we were cautious about having to wait for this one to rise THREE times, but it did and we had great success. Love it! Will make again for sure. We did add one cup less of flour though, it was too thick to add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Gorley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingMama
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This recipe is wonderful! I must admit, I like it better than my grandmother's recipe and will now be using it for my own. I made a half batch the first go through to try it out and because I wanted smaller loaves to accompany soup. It had a perfect crust, moist inside and tasted amazing. I think I could have ate the whole 1st loaf myself, and almost did! Needless to say, I will be making several more of these loaves tonight as my kids devoured them as soon as they came home from school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I changed it to real butter. Oh my its good my mom used a lot of lard when i was a kid. This is real close to what she msde. But do every thing the same nice job. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GK Montag

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I made this last week and it turned out wonderful! The only change I made was I used regular flour otherwise left everything the same. I made 2 loaves then made ooey-gooey cinnamon buns from the sight and they were very yummy! I'm making another batch I this bread today and I think I will just bake 2 loaves again and use the extra to make fry bread....I will update on how the fry bread turns out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Oh my goodness! You cannot believe how incredibly delicious this bread is. I was a little nervous making this, because I am a novice bread maker. I cut the recipe down to a third, because the only yeast I had on hand was one packet of quick rise yeast. I used unbleached AP flour and canola oil. I used my stand mixer to knead the dough and let it rise in the mixing bowl. I covered the loaf for the last 7 minutes (cooked for 35 minutes total) and slathered the top in butter when it came out of the over. It was absolutely divine! I will not look elsewhere for a white bread recipe. It cannot get any better than this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni G.
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Great recipe!!! The only addition I made was a slight egg wash brushed on top before baking. My picky husband said it's the best homemade bread he's ever had. And my even pickier 6 year old begged to have her sandwiches for school made from it and told me to leave the crust on!!! She NEVER eats crust!! So a win, win, win recipe! Happy hubby! Happy kids! Happy mom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I'm still a beginner with making my own bread, but this recipe was still easy to follow. I've been making baguettes lately and wanted to make something to use for my sons sandwiches. This bread was exactly what I was looking for! I increased the yeast to 4 1/2 tablespoons trying to speed up the rising time (which seemed to work) and I used regular all-purpose white flour. I love the fluffy texture of this bread. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenlikescows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
First off, I am no baker by any stretch of the imagination, nor cook for that matter. I do enjoy trying new recipes but not very often. What brought this recipe to light, I have no idea, but I am thrilled beyond words. I first was captured by the picture that remarkably looked just like what Grandma used to make. This is a feat in itself with 4000 +/- bread recipes online. I made the recipe the first time and overlooked letting it rise a second time, (remember... not a baker) I still loved the loaf, even though it was dense, the flavor and texture took me back 40 years. I nearly cried, no kidding. I couldn't wait to make the next batch and today was the day. (08-23-14) Unbelievable!!!! No reason on God's green earth to ever have store bought bread in the house. Tell me why we settled for anything less?? I tried to upload photo but haven't enough megapixels...whatever! I encourage everyone to give this a try. Thanks a million for sharing "Grandma Vandoren's" recipe. God Bless, Shalom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Gerity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swanton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States