Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
used this recipe for pizza dough just remove the sugar awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Second recipe I tried from this site and this blows the other one away!!! It came out so moist!!! I did spread a little bit of "I can't believe it's not butter" on the top of each loaf with 15 minutes left to cook, then covered with foil and finished cooking. Then while cooling I brushed a little more ICBINB on top... so yummy!!! My 5 year old who does not like bread at all LOVES this stuff... so I will not be buying bread any more.. this is what she will eat so I will be making it!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made one loaf of this recipe and one loaf from the recipe I usually use from this site. The loaf from my usual recipe rose nicely and came out perfect. This bread did not rice nicely at all and though my husband thought it tasted okay, I did not care for it. It also took an hour longer than my usual recipe so I think I will stick with what has worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Excellent bread!! I really like that the recipe makes 3 loaves. I make 2 for bread and other one for cinnamon rolls or dinner rolls. Very good taste and texture, perfect for sandwiches. Brushed with a little egg wash for a nice golden shiny look. I no longer buy store bought bread. Thanks for the recipe. -Denece
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece Frisbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! My family wants me to make it every week as a staple food! Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Well, I have never made bread with oil before, and was really skeptical about using it. No more skepticism, it does work. This bread has great texture, and wonderful homemade taste. Made three loaves this AM, the dough raised wonderfully, but with 3 TBSP yeast you would expect that. Will use this recipe as my go to from now on. Thanks for sharing such a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This recipe is quick and easy to make, but the best part is how taste. It compares to my mother & grandmother's bread, and that's saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is the best recipe, I just love it. One thing I wonder about "why, after dough rise it is bumpy and not smooth"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This recipe is so easy to follow and turns out so great. I don't use the entire amount sugar, but supplement it with honey which has seemed to make it hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Would rate this 10 stars if I could! I halved the recipe and made one loaf of bread and used the other half for cinnamon rolls. It was super easy and tastes very much like my Nanna's! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States