Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I love love love this recipe! I use it for bread, rolls, pizza and cinnamon rolls. Always perfect, this is my go to, in fact I am making it now. Five happy stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiisme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This was easy to make and was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Best bread recipe...period. Simple ingredients, easy to make, light and wonderful flavor. Making this a weekly staple for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warroad, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This bread is delicious and easy to make. I used bread flour and am going to try all purposed next. To the poster who said it was like soup...well obviously you read the recipe wrong!! 5 Stars all the way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justjackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Made 3 loaves, exactly as recipe stated, and baked them at same time. Melted 2 sticks of butter, divided into 3 different little bowls. The first, I left alone. As for the 2nd bowl of butter, I added lemon juice, basil, lemon pepper, pepper, and parsley, to taste. For the 3rd bowl, I added minced garlic, Italian seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper, with just a dash of chili powder and cumin for a little kick. I spread half of the bowls of butter onto the loaves with a basting brush; one flavor for each loaf, just before baking. Then, about 10 min before it was done, I spread the other half of the bowls of butter onto their respective loaves. 3 loaves disappeared in one friendly gathering, when everyone supposedly already ate before they came over!! They just kept coming back and picking off slice after slice!! Easy recipe to expand on and create with, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This is absolutely the best bread recipe I have ever made. With one recipe, I made one large loaf,one dozen buns and one dozen cinnamon rolls. The texture is amazing and this will be the only bread recipe I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Made this for the 1st time today. I am not very experienced with breads beyond throwing the ingredients into a bread machine. Gave this a try and I might not ever go back! The texture was good, it was moist and not too dense. I did not follow the recipe 100% though, I substituted all purpose flour for half the flour called for in the recipe. Also I only made 1 loaf out of the dough, the rest I turned into rolls (which can be frozen and heated up at a moment's notice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is the best white bread recipe I have ever made. It is excellent. I made it exactly as in the directions, but instead of making 3 white loaves, I made 2 white loaves, and a large cinnamon raisin loaf. This is how I made the cinnamon raisin loaf. After I mixed the sponge, I poured some out into another bowl, (only enough to make 1 loaf). I then added 1 tablespoon of cinnamon, 1/2 cup of black raisins, and 2 tablespoon of agave sweetener. I then set it aside and let it rise just like the rest of the batter. I followed the rest of the directions exactly as in the recipe, and the breads turned out wonderful. My husband and I loved both the white and the cinnamon loaves. The texture of breads were just like it looks in the picture. This is the bread recipe I will use from now on. Thank you for sharing your Grandma VanDoren's White Bread recipe. It is a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Love this recipe!! It's the only bread I make. I sub in 2 cups of whole wheat flour for the white. It also makes wonderful hamburger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookings, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
so yummy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and soooooooooooooooooo easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 630) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States