Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by WrennWillard
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I make it just as it says. So easy, and turns out perfect everytime. I love that it makes three loaves so I can always give one away. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yojalma
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This bread came out to pure perfection. I used two 9x5 pan (I think, I may be off by half inch). This is my first time making any type of bread! I'm glad I chose the right recipe. I did not change a this. Also I wanted to add that I made it all in my Kitchen Aid stand mixer with the mixing blade first to mix the wet ingredients with the 4 cups of bread flour and the rest it calls for. After I let it rise I used the dough hook to mix the last 4 cups of flour. The dough was sticky but I did not add anything else, I just used oil on my hands to prevent it from sticking. My husband is so excited since he takes a sandwich to work daily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yojalma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I halved the recipe, dumped it all in the bread machine on Med. white and it was WONDERFUL. I had no idea what a sponge was, so ignored that step. (Afterwards re-read and figured it out, but this was a winner all on its own.) Bless our ancestors for passing recipes like these down... the wonderful women who made these recipes by hand - and how lucky I feel that I don't have to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I have made this recipe twice already, it is my new go to white bread recipe. Very simple and with the use of quick rise yeast you can skip the bowl rise (still need to do sponge rise) cutting out an hour of prep time. I used all purpose flour as I did not have bread flour, but it turned out beautifully! Thanks to another reviewer for that tip about the flour or I might not have made it! Have sent the link to family as well, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Evans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jordan Evans
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I have been using this recipe for a few years now, and recently switched to using half Goat Milk and half water. It is the most delicious and moist bread I have ever had and it doesn't fall apart after a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Better than me mums bread, I'll be using this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmagiggles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Not really sure what went wrong.... I had such high hopes for this recipe.... after reading it and watching the video...but, it was one of the most disgusting breads I've ever had in my life.... extremely dense and smelled and tasted like beer. Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentina Burgos
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole Gorley
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
We've been through a few bread recipes lately, most of which haven't risen so we were cautious about having to wait for this one to rise THREE times, but it did and we had great success. Love it! Will make again for sure. We did add one cup less of flour though, it was too thick to add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Gorley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingMama
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This recipe is wonderful! I must admit, I like it better than my grandmother's recipe and will now be using it for my own. I made a half batch the first go through to try it out and because I wanted smaller loaves to accompany soup. It had a perfect crust, moist inside and tasted amazing. I think I could have ate the whole 1st loaf myself, and almost did! Needless to say, I will be making several more of these loaves tonight as my kids devoured them as soon as they came home from school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States