Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I can't believe I actually made bread! This is a great recipe for first-timers. I'm pretty sure I messed up several times, and it still turned out really well. I love the lightness of this bread. I had to be pretty gentle while slicing it and I don't know yet how well it will hold up for things like grilled cheese or french toast, but I think that's in part due to my poor kneading technique. I found the accompanying video to be extremely helpful as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by falkirkscottie
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except for halving the sugar added. I made two loaves and eight rolls. Lovely bread to go with my home made strawberry jam for supper. Love it! Had to stop myself from guzzling the lot in one go !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falkirkscottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Delicious bread that doesn't crumble when you make sandwiches! The best for toast! I used 1teaspoon less salt. 3seemed like a lot for me. Good crumb texture. Making more today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muqum
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
It's a great recipe. I just reduced the yeast to 2 table spoon and it turned out same fluffy. First time when I made it I felt very strong smell of yeast. Other then that it's a great bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I'm not sure how long I'm supposed to wait for the do to rise. Its been a couple hours and I thought it would rise by now. I'm wondering if I did something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
best bread recipe ever. comes out better when made by hand than with bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Our family agrees that this is the best bread recipe ever! Please try this! You won't be disappointed! I use this recipe all of the time! The Best! Thank you Grandma Vandoren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was my second time making Bread. The first recipe I used didn't turn out well. So I looked for another and found this one. I only had 2 Bread pans so I had to adjust the recipe and it turned out good. I should have been a bit more patient when waiting for it to rise but it still turned out yummy. I definitely will make this again. I recommend this recipe for beginners and pro's. It is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pine Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very Easy to make and came out nice ,but no taste at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 638) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States