Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was great! The crust was soft, and the inside was chewey and delicious. I covered the loaves with foil after baking for 15min and then brushed the tops with butter after removing them from the oven. This is by far the easiest and best-tasting white bread recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Easy to make and so yummy! Thanks for the recipe - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
So easy to create and sooo tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyg12122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I loved this bread recipe, it was easy to follow and it came out really good and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time was with 4c bread flour 4c white flour, and it turned out great. This time I made it with 4c stone ground wheat flour 4c white flour. I've not tasted it with the wheat flour yet, but the first time I made this bread it was delicious. Some people have mentioned getting no rise/poof from their loaves. Maybe they had dead yeast, because I've never had a problem with rising. I always add the yeast to warm water, give it a quick stir, then add the sugar, salt, and oil, another quick stir, and then gently stir in the first 4c of flour. I tend to forget about bread while it's rising, so the "time" involved isn't really that big of a loss to me. I always just let it go for a while and do other stuff around the house. I would suggest that people put an oven thermometer to check their oven temps- mine cooks about 50 degrees hot, so I had one loaf get burnt the first time around. All in all, this is a very good and simple recipe, and I will be making it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This turned out so great!It was super tasty and had the right amount of saltiness and sweetness.My kids ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
A W E S O M E!! I've never been happy with the results in my bread baking before. Over 30 years I've tried and tried to get the soft, wonderful yumminess my grandmother used to make. Lots of people can and do get their bread to turn out with other recipes. But mine never did, until this recipe. With 3 rises, it may seem like it would take longer to make, but I found that it took no longer than other recipes. That first rise of the "sponge" seemed to really get that yeast going! My 14 yr old daughter, tasting the first cloverleaf roll, said, "Mom, why haven't you made this before." :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA RENEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Howe, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Perfect. I used this recipe as a base for my cinnamon bread. All it needed for the sweeter bread was the extra sugar. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
The best bread ever!!! I've been searching for one for years. It goes quickly and makes the best cinnamon rolls I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Followed the recipe as is and it comes out perfect everytime! Great texture, and YUMMY! I make 3 loaves with this recipe, and it is always gone in no time at all! The family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States