Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
It worked great for me. I made two loaves in 10 inch pans. I used bread flour but I might try all purpose flour sometime. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I have made this recipe many times in the last couple month with excellent results. I used it for my rolls at Thanksgiving and had many compliments-even from some of my most picky eaters. I used the dough to make scones for a group of teenagers and they could not get enough. I use regular flour and it turns out just fine. I have also used a couple cups of whole wheat flour with the same great results. Sometimes I punch it down and let it rise in the bowl twice for an extra smooth texture. This is a great base dough for all kinds a wonderful treats. This is one of my favorite bread recipes and it will get many more uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I've made this recipe twice, turned out great! Since Hostess / Wonder has gone under I have turned to this recipe for our sandwich bread with fantastic results and rave reviews from my Hubby and children. Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buzz
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
It uses what is called the "sponge rise" method, though after looking this term up on Google, what is described in this recipe is not the standard for this method. Doesn't matter... This is a great bread, though not one I would consider for making sandwiches with. No this is a bread where you slice off a slab, the likes of Texas Toast. This bread is the type you use for sopping up all that goodness left in the stew or soup bowl... This is the slice of bread you use to make sure you get all that Gooey goodness of the egg yoke off the breakfast plate. This, this is the bread that serves as a desert... With soft butter smeared on it and a heaping spoonful of jam, chased by a good cup of coffee or ice cold milk. Mmmmm! Thank You Grandma VanDoren! Now I didn't have enough "bread loaf" pans, so I substituted a good ol cast iron skillet, oiled and sprinkled with corn meal. Tonight when I make another batch... I'll use instead my cast iron dutch oven... that way it will rise much higher and be more plentiful. My Mother taugh me to coat the tops with a cold butter stick shortly out of the oven... it makes the crust all that much softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as it is written. It turned out great! Light yet denser than store bought white bread. It slices very easily, without crumbling. I made some into small sandwich buns instead of 3rd loaf. Will be making it often, and will try the freezing method for dough to cook later,, as another comment mentioned. Thank you, Grandma VanDoren for giving up the recipe! Thank you, Marilyn, for sharing with the rest of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RY
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Wow! Really great recipe! Very easy to make and it turned out fantastic. Crusty on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. Made this using loaf tins and the bread attachment on our kitchenaid. Made 2 loafs and 1 small batch of cinnamon buns. Next time I make this, I will omit sugar or reduce drastically since me and the hubby prefer non-sweet breads. Thanks so much for sharing this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I've been baking bread of all kinds for years and am kind of known for it- my husband says that this is the best bread I've ever made. Will DEFINITELY make again! Made most of the batch into loaves and used remainder to make hamburger buns topped with egg wash and sesame seeds. Used slightly more flour than called for in order to handle dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I love the texture of this bread. I used to bake bread weekly, many years ago, and didn't go by measurements....time has removed the memory of those "recipes" from my brain. :) This is one I will use again. I just made three loaves [kitchen aid mixer] and can't believe how fast it ended up in the oven. Three loaves is a bit much for my mixer but everything worked out great. I was out of bread flour and just used my all purpose organic unbleached white flour. I will try to use bread flour next time to see the difference..but this bread is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This recipe was amazing. It had the right texture, didn't make my mouth feel weirdly dry, and tasted like the way I always imagine homemade bread is supposed to taste. The only change I made was that I used butter instead of oil only b/c that's what I had on hand. The bread was fluffy, light, flavorful...I mean, just perfect. Really, really good. I've tried MANY white bread recipes over the years, and this is a clear winner. Will absolutely 100% make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Good, but I am looking for a "Rhodes Bread" taste and texture. This is not. The crust is a little thick and tough. Was very easy. Maybe next time I will not bake it as long as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States