Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as it is written. It turned out great! Light yet denser than store bought white bread. It slices very easily, without crumbling. I made some into small sandwich buns instead of 3rd loaf. Will be making it often, and will try the freezing method for dough to cook later,, as another comment mentioned. Thank you, Grandma VanDoren for giving up the recipe! Thank you, Marilyn, for sharing with the rest of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RY
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Wow! Really great recipe! Very easy to make and it turned out fantastic. Crusty on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. Made this using loaf tins and the bread attachment on our kitchenaid. Made 2 loafs and 1 small batch of cinnamon buns. Next time I make this, I will omit sugar or reduce drastically since me and the hubby prefer non-sweet breads. Thanks so much for sharing this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I've been baking bread of all kinds for years and am kind of known for it- my husband says that this is the best bread I've ever made. Will DEFINITELY make again! Made most of the batch into loaves and used remainder to make hamburger buns topped with egg wash and sesame seeds. Used slightly more flour than called for in order to handle dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I love the texture of this bread. I used to bake bread weekly, many years ago, and didn't go by measurements....time has removed the memory of those "recipes" from my brain. :) This is one I will use again. I just made three loaves [kitchen aid mixer] and can't believe how fast it ended up in the oven. Three loaves is a bit much for my mixer but everything worked out great. I was out of bread flour and just used my all purpose organic unbleached white flour. I will try to use bread flour next time to see the difference..but this bread is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This recipe was amazing. It had the right texture, didn't make my mouth feel weirdly dry, and tasted like the way I always imagine homemade bread is supposed to taste. The only change I made was that I used butter instead of oil only b/c that's what I had on hand. The bread was fluffy, light, flavorful...I mean, just perfect. Really, really good. I've tried MANY white bread recipes over the years, and this is a clear winner. Will absolutely 100% make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Good, but I am looking for a "Rhodes Bread" taste and texture. This is not. The crust is a little thick and tough. Was very easy. Maybe next time I will not bake it as long as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I loved this recipe!!! Is very good!! I make bread a lot and this is the best white bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This bread is a keeper! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
The hubby cant have store bought bread, so I make this recipe into buns. I add an egg and 1 TBS fruit fresh to help as a preservative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I am not an experienced bread maker, and have always had issues with my yeast proofing. My bread ALWAYS ends up being dense and closer to a brick then bread. Not anymore! I've never seen a recipe for bread where you didn't proof the yeast before adding the oil, etc. I was thrilled when my dough doubled! Of course, the best part was the bread. Delish! I will be making this recipe over and over again. No more brick bread. Hooray! A big thank you to Grandma VanDoren for a recipe the even I can make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States