Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made this Bread it is easy simply Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Made this for dinner tonight and it turned out great. I used the bread machine to make the dough, which I had to halve for the machine, and then baked in the oven. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
One of the very best bread recipes I have tried. The bread rose brilliantly, and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23kids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I have made this twice and it is wonderful. The first time with regular flour and the second time with bread flour. Both work well, however, I did think the bread flour made the bread a little lighter in texture and it rose higher than with regular all purpose flour. It is very easy to make and the taste far exceeds anything you get at the store. I have made bread on and off in my lifetime and used different recipes, but this one is a keeper!!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
The BEST bread recipe you will find. I substitute the vegetable oil with olive oil for a more Italian taste and bake it into knot rolls rather than loaves. My family asks me to make this bread for every holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I've used this recipe several times and it always turns out perfect! Today's dough is going to be used to make ham and cheese roll-ups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is my go to recipe for homemade bread. It is fail proof and so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I_can't_cook!
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I ran out of bread. 4 days until payday. I tried a different recipe and of course I ruined it. Found this one and read through the reviews, but the video convinced me. It's amazing!!!! I am the world's absolute worst cook, and it turned out amazing! I did it all by hand. Tell Grandma VanDoren thank you!!! And whoever made the video... Big thanks for that. It really helped to see what it should look like. I cut the recipe in half using "change servings" It would have made 2 loaves, but I made one loaf and made cinnamon rolls out of the other one. They turned out so yummy. The crust of the loaf was crispy and the inside was fluffy and perfect. Definitely will work in the toaster or the panini press too. Definitely tasts like grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I_can't_cook!

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Loved this recipe! My Gramma Cook used to make bread and cinnamon buns for us using a very similar recipe which (again) was never written down. We made half the recipe and baked the bread in a round bread dome for 40 minutes. Perfect taste. Perfect texture. Perfect rise. We used a Kitchen Aid to knead the dough and then did a final knead and shape into a ball on a floured board. Next time we will make a full recipe and make a loaf with 1/2 and then use the other 1/2 for cinnamon rolls. My gramma will be proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Ii must have done something wrong because it was very yeasty smelling. Will try again and cut back the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States