Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This recipe is quick and easy to make, but the best part is how taste. It compares to my mother & grandmother's bread, and that's saying something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This is the best recipe, I just love it. One thing I wonder about "why, after dough rise it is bumpy and not smooth"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This recipe is so easy to follow and turns out so great. I don't use the entire amount sugar, but supplement it with honey which has seemed to make it hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Would rate this 10 stars if I could! I halved the recipe and made one loaf of bread and used the other half for cinnamon rolls. It was super easy and tastes very much like my Nanna's! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe. Very easy to make. I have not baked bread in many years and it came out perfect the first time! I cut the recipe to two loaves, the directions are very good. I did dissolve yeast and sugar before adding flour. Rise time in between was about an hour. We had it for dinner with chicken parm last night. Is an excellent bread for sandwiches, and I plan on making french toast with the rest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This bread is delicious - and as others have said, virtually no fail. It's easy and comes out great every time. Thanks for a great bread recipe! For those who have a food processor, this is how I do it (it saves on a little time): Proof yeast by dissolving yeast and sugar in the warm water and letting it set until foamy (5ish mins). Use dough blade to mix flour, salt, and olive oil in processor. Add in water mixture as fast as the flour mixture will absorb it. Mix until dough cleans the sides. Process for 45 seconds to knead. Then, I follow the directions in this recipe starting with rolling dough into ball and putting it in a big greased bowl and cover it with a damp towel. Also, I usually half the recipe - which yields two 1lb-ish loaves. Always comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This recipe is my go-to recipe for bread. I can get two big loaves out of it and they have always come out perfect! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Leduc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I just watched this video and it is exactly what I grew up watching my mother and grandmother do. I have been missing their bread and searching for a recipe that will replace theirs since they also didn't write it down. Watching this video brought tears to my eyes and a recognition of something I haven't seen for years but is so embedded in memory that it all came flooding back. Can't wait until tomorrow AM to try this recipe out for real!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Made it with regular whole wheat flour for my visiting family who does everything natural and homemade and said it was the best whole wheat she has ever had. Came out nice and soft. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Loved this bread! Wonderful soft texture, tastes great ,easy to make. My boyfriend loves it too. He brags about getting homemade bread ,then shares with friends. This will be my recipe for life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States