Grandma VanDoren's White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I've tried a lot of bread recipes with varying degrees of success but this was hands down the best recipe I have tried. Very tender yet chewy crust and soft center. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I love this recipe!! I also like to cut the ingredients in half To make pizza dough. I have 5 boys and 1girl and they all love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious bread. Much softer and fluffier than a lot of bread recipes that I've tried recently. Very light and airy, with a fantastic flavor. I used regular all-purpose flour instead of bread flour, but I'd love to give it a try with bread flour, too. I usually make two loaves of bread, then throw the rest into the fridge to make pizzas with later. This is now my go-to white bread recipe. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Gatley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I'm sure this recipe deserves more than 3 stars but the bread I made was just ok. I think my mistake was in using rapid rise yeast (dough cycle) instead of active dry which I didn't have. The Fleischmann's website said it could be used instead. The bread had a nice flavor, but didn't rise well. I will make this again this week and update my rating. With so many positive reviews, it has to be novice baker error. UPDATE: 2 WEEKS LATER - So I finally got over my failure with this recipe and decided to make it again. This time, I used SAF active dry yeast and King Arthur's bread flour. I knew this loaf would be different when the sponge doubled in less than 1 hour. The bread wasw absolutely delicious. My husband and I made turkey and provolone sandwiches with the warm bread. The texture was perfect. We just had the remaining half with scrambled eggs for breakfast. The entire loaf barely lasted 12 hours. Definitely five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
great recipe! used regular whole wheat flour and the reaukt was excellent. will make my own bread now. later will try adding seeds or raisins for variations. very easy to make and great taste, ain't grandma's cooking the best!! thanksnfor the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Actually really easy with a KitchenAide. I follow the recipe exactly but for baking only had mini loaf pans. Made 4mini loaves, a pan of cinnamon rolls and froze enough dough to make 3 more mini loaves later out of 1 recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing this!!! I've been making bread for years but this was the best I've made. My 7 yr old was wanting to make bread like they did in "pioneer" days and I didn't want to figure that out so we gave this a try. WOW I am so glad we did. The only negative thing I have to say about this is that it completely ruined my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
The perfect white bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Great texture, light and fluffy, not dense at all. A little bland but still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I've used this recipe a number of times and love it. I start the yeast in the water & sugar first before continuing with the recipe, and I always need a lot more flour than the recipe calls for. I don't even think you can start kneading it until you have at least 9 (closer to 10) cups of flour in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States