Grandma Sophie's Smashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This recipe is close to the way my mother used to make potato salad & she was the best cook around. I add more eggs, a little mustard, more pickles and more chopped celery plus McCormicks "perfect pinch garlic & herb no salt mixture. I put in about a teaspoon. Let it sit in the refrigerator until all things cool and mix together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is a variation of one my mom has made since I was a kid. We use chopped gherkins and a splash or two of the pickle juice and a squirt of yellow mustard. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Young

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I add finely chopped onion and some parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dosiegm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Awesome recipe, Simply Awesome!! Everyone request I make this recipe at any family gathering or BBQ now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great recipe but now im constanly making potato salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This potato salad is really good and I always have the few ingredients on hand. I sometimes use bread & butter pickles instead of dill and that is a completely different taste, but very good. This is the only potato salad I make and everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is one of my favorite ways to make potato salad and really my husband's favorite way to eat potato salad. I like to add a tablespoon or two of dijon mustard, some chopped green or red onion, some garlic powder/onion powder/fresh black pepper and add in the mayo gradually until it gets to the right consistancy. Depending on your potatoes, you might need either less or more than the recipe states. This is really a great base recipe to just play with and make more personal to you and your family's tastes. NOTE: This is a great base for Cold Baked Potato Salad, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
The best and easiest potato salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Sometimes simple is the best. That was definitely the case with this dish. I used Miracle Whip and sweet pickle relish instead of chopping the pickles myself. I couldn't help it and added a tiny dab of yellow mustard and a little onion powder. I cut this in half (except the eggs, I used all 3 because I forgot to scale down) and it was a little dry so maybe next time I will add more Miracle Whip. My husband said this was like deviled eggs salad with potatoes and he loved this. I agreed it is our new favorite recipe and so simple too! Thanks for sharing Grandma Sophie's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Love this! Over the last couple days I'd been thinking of some sort of potato and egg salad but I never keep yellow or red potatoes around ad was trying to decide if mashed (or nearly mashed) would work. So happy I found this, it's exactly what I was picturing. I did leave out the pickle and added bacon pieces and green onions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States