Grandma Sophie's Smashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Vicky's Mom's Warm Potato Salad Delicious salad, best served warm, but cold good too. My friend's Mom makes this, but improves it in the following way: Eliminate the pickle. Instead, very finely chop two stalks celery & one medium very sweet onion. Place the chopped onion in the 2 cups mayo to marinate (it removes the raw onion taste) while u cook the potatoes & eggs. Cook potatoes till done (15 min or so). Cook eggs till done also. Drain potatoes & eggs. Peel eggs & chop. Put eggs in w/hot potatoes. Take two butter knives & hold them so u cut in a "criss cross" fashion to "cut/slightly smash" the potatoes. Add the mayo/onion mixture & the celery & mix lightly. If dry, add a bit more mayo to taste. Season w/salt/pepper to taste. This warm mixture sounds odd, but tastes heavenly. Perfect taste/texture combo. Excellent w/any type of sandwich, baked ham, brisket, meat loaf, roast/fried chicken, pork roast, hamburgers/hot dogs, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I love simple potato salad. I used dill cubes (kind of like relish) and it was much easier than cutting the pickle up. Easy to put together at the last minute with simple ingredients you can keep on hand. This will become my stand-by potato salad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I used this recipe and it was a hit. My grandmother in-law said it was the best potato salad she had ever tasted. That is a great compliment from her, she doesn't say something unless she means it. I did use left over mashed potatoes and used bread and butter pickles instead of the dill. It was great, I will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ash Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Willard, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
My husband, Potato Salad Snob, LOVED this salad. Begs me to make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Finally a good potato salad without onions and celery!!! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I am normally NOT a potato salad fan but this recipe is surprisingly very good and super simple! Instead of plain salt, I used Celery Salt since I had it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Hi This is NicoleR's cousin Melissa. This is an awesome recipe, but better when i make it! (Just teasing Cole) Double the eggs and and add more pickles for some pure heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
My familie hates potato salad and thay have actualy asked me to make this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was great. I had been looking for a recipe my Mother had gotten from a woman from SC. I am not sure this was the same recipe, but if not it is pretty close. Everyone loved this. I will use this a lot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I brought this to a family reunion, everyone was asking for the recipe. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jenison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States