Grandma Sophie's Smashed Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Love this! Over the last couple days I'd been thinking of some sort of potato and egg salad but I never keep yellow or red potatoes around ad was trying to decide if mashed (or nearly mashed) would work. So happy I found this, it's exactly what I was picturing. I did leave out the pickle and added bacon pieces and green onions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was good, a little bland and a little dry, so I added about a half cup of Miracle Whip and a Tbsp of mustard and 2 or 3 Tbsp of pickle juice. The DH and the five-yr-old loved it! Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Barnhart, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This is pretty good, different texture than any other potato salad I have ever had. I prefer this slightly warm, just after it's made. It's still very good after it has been chilled though. It is like smashed potatoes, being it's mixed while warm. I added a bit of mustard too, I like the tartness it adds to potato salads. This is perfect when craving potato salad with only having few ingrediants on hand, and you don't have to let it set for hours either. Thanks for the recipe (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Simple and fantastic....My girl who eats nothing would'nt leave it alone long enough to cool....THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynndog (,)(,)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
So easy!!! This is about how my own always turns out. I love the smashed texture. I like to add additional spices like seasoned salt, celery seed, dried minced onion. Sweet relish works good in place of the pickle if you care to try, just drain off most of the liquid before adding it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I really enjoyed this... I will def. be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was great! Even relatives who don't normally like potato salad loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
this was REALLY good!! i blog recipes, and blogged this one.. and didn't change the name of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Very basic, yet delicious recipe. You can stick to the recipe, but I can't seem to resist adding a little chopped onion and a small squirt of yellow mustard. Either way, this is a winner! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Ford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is now my favorite potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States