Grandma Snyder's Oatmeal Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Just made it for football Sunday and its not going to make it through the afternoon! I made it exactly as specified but wi double cinnamon and it is LUSCIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is very good, the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
So delicious, moist and perfect if you like a combination of german chocolate and spice cake. My fam LOVED! I didn't have evaporated milk on hand so I used heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This cake is great .I just used a little less sugar after reading some reviews .Making it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
My Grandmother used to make this cake all the time! This cake is my children's favorite cake for their birthday. One of my sons doesn't like cake and he eats this with a big smile on his face! One difference is that my recipe says cook for an hour and this says 30-40 minutes... not sure that can be right but I'm off to make this for my son's birthday and I'm going to try the shorter time. Finger's crossed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Very sweet. Too sweet. But I think with less sugar mixture on top it would be perfect. Also would like to try a cream cheese frosting instead because the cake itself is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This cake is awesome! I always use self-rising flour so I leave out the salt and baking soda. Don't like nutmeg (too strong) so I left that out too. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Served it to guests and husband--everyone LOVED it, especially husband! This will become my "go to" recipe for potlucks or family meals from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Outstanding cake that came out beautifully. I used old fashioned oats, which I think makes a difference. I used pecans instead of walnuts, and may cut back (1/2 - 1 cup) on them next time I make this (there WILL be a next time). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I'm glad I read the reviews before I tried this recipe. Too sweet was used a lot, so I reduced each of the sugars to 3/4 C. and reduced the water to 1C. I also used vegetable oil and applesauce instead of butter. I prefer more of a spice flavor, so I used 1T of pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon and nutmeg. I was very pleased with the outcome. I skipped the icing because the cake is sweet enough and there's really no need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This cake is great! I cut down on the sugars and used pecans instead of walnuts! This one is definitly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States