Grandma Slattery's Michigan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
I've never been to New York, but this stuff is delicious! I used Laura's ground round, so it was pretty healthy. I also used Healthy Choice Savory Franks and topped them off with freshly grated Vermont white cheddar. It makes a lot, so I froze half. Thanks so much for sending the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This was a hit - sprinkle some shredded cheese on top of the chilli before serving the dog......very good! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theboyzmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
We just returned from a week at our camp in the Adirondacks. This year we decided to make our own sauce instead of going out for our favorite upstate food. Your sauce was GREAT!. Now we have a new tradition, and we will use it every summer as well as at home during the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This meat sauce is incredible! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. This was exactly the recipe I was looking for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
The best I've tasted! I doubt I would ever use a different recipe as this is the really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I thought this sounded like sloppy joes on hotdogs, but hey, we do chili dogs so I gave it a try and this was soooo good. I prepared it exactly as written and everyone agreed it was a keeper. We used Hebrew National hotdogs and topped it w/walla walla sweet onions. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This brings me back home. Where in Upstate did this come from; This is the one I remember. Thank you, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
one of the best Michigan recipes i've used, and i live in upstate NY, Many rave reviews when served to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Wow!!! YUM!!! I made this in advance of tomorrow's cookout so I snuck a taste and I could not stop eating this! I plan on serving this over hot dogs along with shredded cheese and chopped vidalia onions. Thanks for the recipe! By the way, I used 93% lean ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Used beef stew meat floured and browned in a little EVOO then added rest of ing. and poured over egg noodles. Topped it off with a little sour cream. Yummy Yummy Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States