Grandma Slattery's Michigan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
WONDERFUL!!! It was a big hit with my grandkids also. I followed the recipe except I added a bit of cumin. Top it off with chopped sweet onion. YUMMY! I had plenty to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
One word: WOW! Fantastic sauce! One bit of advice. Use a potato masher to break the beef down to a finer consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
The best hot dog sauce recipe I have come across. Exactly what I was looking for. I get rave reveiws every time I make this and it makes enough so that I can freeze as individual portions and get 4 or 5 "meals" out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
We just returned from a week at our camp in the Adirondacks. This year we decided to make our own sauce instead of going out for our favorite upstate food. Your sauce was GREAT!. Now we have a new tradition, and we will use it every summer as well as at home during the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was actually very good. My husband is from up-state New York but had never heard of this.. Probably it is from up-up-state New York!! I have to agree with the others that this really reminds of sloppy joe.. I had my doubts as I tasted it in the pot b-4 decorating my dog with it.. but surprisingly it was very good on it.. I added a little shredded cheese.. Husband and son liked it also.. 4-stars is coz it's definitely worth trying but not something I will be craving everytime I have a hot dog.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This recipe was a dream and now a reality! The one we remember and love. My sister said Tobin's 1st Prize hot dogs were used. They are mild tasting and don't compete with the flavor of the sauce. Thank you so much for this recipe! And to anyone new to this it is not meant to be a chili dog or sloppy joe-ish. It's better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This was a hit - sprinkle some shredded cheese on top of the chilli before serving the dog......very good! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theboyzmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I increased the brown sugar (just a little) and added a few pinches of ground allspice. Great coney sauce!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Michael, you and grandma made my hubby a very happy man. There's nothing like a man and his dog and this sauce just gave a whole new meaning to mans best friend. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
one of the best Michigan recipes i've used, and i live in upstate NY, Many rave reviews when served to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States