Grandma Slattery's Michigan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
One word: WOW! Fantastic sauce! One bit of advice. Use a potato masher to break the beef down to a finer consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
WONDERFUL!!! It was a big hit with my grandkids also. I followed the recipe except I added a bit of cumin. Top it off with chopped sweet onion. YUMMY! I had plenty to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I grew up on this since I'm from the northern NY, it's the best trust me! I love it on hamburgers too. Or just on a bun by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
We just returned from a week at our camp in the Adirondacks. This year we decided to make our own sauce instead of going out for our favorite upstate food. Your sauce was GREAT!. Now we have a new tradition, and we will use it every summer as well as at home during the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I'll preface by admitting I didn't know what to expect when I tried this recipe, just knew I wanted something different. I cooked as instructed and the sauce (which is basically a sloppy joe) was delicious, but it just seemed a little odd to put on a hot dog. I will for sure make again and just put on buns though! Try a pickle on top of the hotdog and this sauce, it's good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
The best hot dog sauce recipe I have come across. Exactly what I was looking for. I get rave reveiws every time I make this and it makes enough so that I can freeze as individual portions and get 4 or 5 "meals" out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This recipe was a dream and now a reality! The one we remember and love. My sister said Tobin's 1st Prize hot dogs were used. They are mild tasting and don't compete with the flavor of the sauce. Thank you so much for this recipe! And to anyone new to this it is not meant to be a chili dog or sloppy joe-ish. It's better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Michael, you and grandma made my hubby a very happy man. There's nothing like a man and his dog and this sauce just gave a whole new meaning to mans best friend. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
The best I've tasted! I doubt I would ever use a different recipe as this is the really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This meat sauce is incredible! I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. This was exactly the recipe I was looking for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States