Grandma Slattery's Michigan Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was actually very good. My husband is from up-state New York but had never heard of this.. Probably it is from up-up-state New York!! I have to agree with the others that this really reminds of sloppy joe.. I had my doubts as I tasted it in the pot b-4 decorating my dog with it.. but surprisingly it was very good on it.. I added a little shredded cheese.. Husband and son liked it also.. 4-stars is coz it's definitely worth trying but not something I will be craving everytime I have a hot dog.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Other reviews are right on. This is not a chili dog or sloppy joe (no chili and no peppers). I have never seen a"Michigan" anywhere but here. (Northern,NY...almost to Canada) This is where you get a michigan either with or without. (onions) YUM! For any vegetarians, it is easy to make this into a veggie Michigan. Specifically, Light Life brand veggie crumbles that already look and feel like browned ground beef. Even the fussiest of meat eaters can't tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This didn't taste like what I was expecting. It came out kind of thick and tasted like a saucy meatloaft. Not sure that I would make this again. It just might not be to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I live in Southern NY, but have lots of friends from the "North Country". I used this recipe in a challenge with a friend from Franklin County as to who makes the BEST Michigan Sauce...I WON!!! Even my competitor acknowledged it was better than his family's "secret" recipe...It was very easy to make, full of great flavor & came out as smooth as poosible...THANKS GRANDMA SLATTERY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
It's a very good tasting sauce. Freezes well. This is the closest sauce I can find to the Michigan sauce we have here in Vermont but not quite the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I would really rate this a 3 1/2. Its ok, but i agree a little to sweet and it does taste a little like sloppy joes. I grew up with Clair and Carl's and MC Sweeney's in Plattsburgh, ny. this recipe is not close to those. i think the next time i will not put all of the sugar and about half the ketchup, and replace it with more sauce maybe do 16 oz of tomato sauce. I did add the cumin, and red crushed pepper. just a hint from watching my mom make her version, she boiled the ground beef and it makes it really small so you don't have to stand over it breaking it up with your spatula. Unfortunately i can not get my mom because she has passed on. I promise it works. just drain it and another thing you can do to add a layer of flavor is put some pepper and cumin and onion powder in the water with the beef. I hope this helps everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I have used this off and on for a few years now with great success. I follow the recipe exactly. I recently tried a different one on this site (its supposed to be very similar to one in upstate New york that was featured on a cooking show) but I didnt like it as much as this one, nor did my family. I have very picky 5 and 6 year old boys, they gave this 2 thumbs up! It's really good and I would recommend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedkids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Make sure you add the hamburger raw. It will be very fine if you stir it well in the beginning. I'm from upstate NY and this one is different somehow to what I'm used to. Mine has cumin and no vinegar or sugar. It's good just different. Not meant to be saucy, so you have to really cook it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was much too sweet. It wasn't anything that I remembered in Michigan. Used it as Sloppy Joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States