Grandma Skeet's Prune Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
After you fill the Kolaches with the prune mixture, please allow them to raise for about 20 minute. Then add the topping before you put the Kolaches in the oven. This was not included when the recipe was published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This is a tasty recipe, and the whole family liked it. If I made it again, however, I would make a couple changes: I would make 3/4 the amount of prune filling, as they were VERY pruney. I would use a greased 13x9 pan rather than a cookie sheet to contain the large amount of streusel. I would let the dough rise 20 min before adding the filling (I missed that addition, below, when I made them). And I'd bake them longer -- I'd try 20-30 min, as they were a bit doughey with the current recommended time. I would still recommend this recipe, though. Definitely a yummy way to eat prunes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I have never made or heard of Kolaches before even though my first job was in a Jewish/American bakery. I have tried all kinds of prune danish, buns and rolls. These little things are awesome! The filling is absolutely spectacular. I was afraid it was going to be too spicy as it cooked on the stove- but once blended, WOW! I had leftover so I am saving it for a spread on my morning bagel- It is SO good. I had some troubel getting the dough out of my bread machine- it was really sticky so i had to flour my work surface and hands and i dumped the dough out and ended up cutting my "eggs" with a knife molding them on the pan. The dough came out fine. I made some on a metal pan (smaller- cooked 5 minutes longer than recommeded) and some in a casserole dish as another reviewer recommended (big ones- 10 minutes longer than recommended). Make these- they are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
wow, who would have thought i could make such pastries? this recipe made it simple. mine came out sweet and sticky! i made the filling ahead of time and let it set in the fridge. i'm thankful for the update - good to know when/how long to let them rise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I have made this simular recipe many times as I grew up with these, the difference is before baking we top it with coconut instead of the streusel,then after it cools we sprinkle powdered sugar on it. My mother made the dough by hand, and I too use the bread machine. For the prune filling, I don't follow a recipe since I learned from watching my mother but is pretty much the same, I never used lime juice before but I think that may be something I will try. My daughter loves them and I HAVE to make them every year for her birthday which is in a few days . I just picked up the ingrediants this morning for them, and I always make extra for my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made this and used apricot jam instead of prunes for the filling. It is wonderful! I had a lot of the topping left over, not sure how I could have used all of it. When I was done, I did go ahead and put a vanilla drizzly glaze over them, which I liked a lot. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
My Polish/Slavic mother-in-law taught me how to make these but her's was more of a cookie and used cream cheese, butter and flour for the cookie. She used Solo canned prune fruit filling which is almost impossible to find. I'll use her recipe for the cookie but I'm excited to try your filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
My Czech great-grandmother made prune kolaches so I grew up eating them and these taste the closest to hers. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
My kolaches were to die for, other than that! I used 1 cup of damson plum jelly instead of prunes and just added the spices & lime juice to it...very, very tasty filling. I baked them for about 40 minutes. They are crunchy around the edges and top and are soft on the inside. They are delicious! I made a cup of coffee to drink with the first one I tried and never drank the coffee - that good! TY Grandma Skeet, & SCOOBYVC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States