Grandma Sheets' Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I so appreciate someone sharing their family recipes and this is a perfect cookie. I live in Seattle and had to add more flour, just like the directions said. What a great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I love this recipe, I used nearly ten cups of flour, they are delicious and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeFrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I have been fortunate enough to have two dear ladies each cook these and share them with me. They are very good. Thank you Kathy S, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
These cookies are not my favorite sugar cookies (my grandma makes some pretty mean ones!) but I was pretty impressed how well they turned out. Was looking for a recipe that used the ingredients I had on hand (mainly, shortening instead of butter and baking powder/soda in place buttermilk or cream of tarter). Ended up using half whole wheat flour and half all purpose as this is all I had on hand - probably would omit the wheat flour next time. I did alittle of my own thing too - 3/4 c. brown sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, 3/4 tsp. cinnamon - just to try and improve the flavor as others commented it turned out bland. I think those changes really helped. Also, I live in SC, so I ended up using around 9 c. of flour and refrigerated for about 6 hrs, but the dough turned out perfectly - wasn't sticky at all. All in all, this was a great recipe and will definately try it again - maybe with some butter shortening and no wheat flour next time =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth B. - South Carolina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I love these and so does my big family! I tested 4 different sugar cookie recipes last christmas, this was the winner chosen by all. I did add some flour maybe a cup or 2.. the dough is like silk.. so easy to work with. I frost some with buttercream, sugar the top of others and my husband loves them plain. I forgot to mention.. I do not chill the dough at all, chilling it makes the cookies flater, I like mine more cake like and light. Thanks Grandma Sheets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This is my recipe and I want to make clear that the amount of flour used depends on the humidity of where you are when you are making it. I am originally from Ohio where 5 cups was perfect but now I live in Florida and I use about 9 cups of flour. If the dough is sticky, add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Perhaps the laws of physics are different in Ohio(I live in the central part of the state), because I thought this recipe was a dream! I did add an addtional cup of flour, (after reading some of the reviews, I added it without testing it first) and it rolled out like a charm!!! The flavor was wonderful, loved the nutmeg and the texture. I used a royal icing on it to make it sweet, but I loved it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Definitely need to add more flour, but chilling does help. I added 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla and the dough tasted fantastic (I can't help myself), but the finished cookies were a bit bland. I'm going to ice them, then they'll be perfect. The nutmeg really makes the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
The reviewer who complained about this recipe yielding sticky dough did not add enough flour. I have made this recipe five or six times and have had to add up to 9 cups of flour. If it's too sticky just keep adding flour. I went on a search for a cookie recipe that would make cookies like the ones my great-grandmother used to make--pale, floury, not very sweet--and this is exactly it. I made them for a family get-together and caused a sensation--everyone wanted to know where I found great grandma's long-lost recipe! They're good with or without icing, although people who are accustomed to today's ultra-sweet desserts may not appreciate them plain. I think they're perfect by themselves, and I give this recipe five stars. My sincere thanks to Kathy for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
These cookies are exactly what Kathy says - thick, not too sweet, but really, really soft and fluffy. Perfect for frosting. I halved the recipe and it made a dozen and a half 2 1/2 inch cookies, just the right amount. Since the dough was soft I just cut round cookies, though shapes would probably work well with this recipe, too. I also used shortening instead of butter because I like a lighter sugar cookie, and added a teaspoon vanilla. Since I live in Utah where the climate is dry, the amount of flour on the recipe was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States