Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Excellent apple pie recipe. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Loved it! Simple and always delicious, I did add some nutmeg and cinnamon to the mixture and mixed the apples in the topping then put in pie shell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklin, Maine, USA
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Best apple pie I've ever made, and I've made a few. I did mix in 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the sliced apples and I like the results a lot. I did not make a lattice top; I poured the sauce on the apples, made a solid top, and vented. But next time I think I will make the lattice top, as per the recipe. I also sliced it too soon, and of course the filling ran out because it hadn't set yet. Next time I will TRY to let it cool for a few hours before slicing. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This may sound crazy but this pie recipe holds a special place in my heart. I decided to make apple pie from scratch for thanksgiving. I followed this recipe and it turned out amazing. My grandfather, who was a man of few words raved and raved about the pie and how amazed he was I made it (I always let my mom and grandma do the cooking!) He passed away a few months later and now every thanksgiving I remember that moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Made this pie 3 times now. I used honey-crisp apples by mistake the first time and it resulted in an AMAZING pie. Like seriously I'm not one to boast but this pie was to DIE for. I used honey-crisp apples for the rest of my pies and each turned out equally amazing. I paired this with Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust substituting the water for vodka (makes it extra flakey).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiebeck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Amazing! The best apple pie, done with a nice flakey crust makes it our household Sunday desert; the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sogpog33
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Simply marvelous! I did use a different apple ( Lady Alice) since I had it already, and added a little cinnamon to the apples before pouring into the crust. I also added some chopped walnuts sparingly to the crust. I bake the pie in a breakaway pan. Looked like a deep dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Okay...what everyone says is true. This is over and above for an apple pie! Adding the syrup after assembly is intriguing. My nephews and grandson love my traditional apple pie, so I will not give up on it. This one is a great addition to the collection. I will continue to use mixed apples to get different flavors and textures. Grandma knew what she was doing, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntcandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is probably the absolute best apple pie recipe I have ever tried, and I've tired several over the years. I used Granny Smith and Braeburn apples because that is what I had on hand. I did add cinnamon because I love it. Every one that has ever eaten this when I've brought it to outings asks for the recipe. A definite keeper and I've stopped looking for new recipes for apple pie. If you read a negative comment about this pie, it has to be because the baker did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,798) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States