Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patrick
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I added some cinnamon and it was wonderful. I will definitely make this again, besides the apples it was super easy aswell. Just incase you are new to making pies like me, make sure to have your crust and lattice ready ahead of time; a little bit of a delay for me ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jen
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
I am obsessed with this apple pie. I've made it with the lattice crust and the topping on the outside, with the lattice crust and half of the topping on the inside and half on the outside, and I've made it with a solid top with all the topping on the inside. Every single way I've made it, it's been divine. I do add some cinnamon to the topping, because I live cinnamon. It's also very good without it. Today, I replaced the sugar with agave and used just 2 Tbs of water. Also wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shyla
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
I added a tablespoon of both cinnamon and cardamom to the sauce, that was the only alteration I made. I followed everything else to the letter. That said, I see no value in pouring the sauce over the top. You have to be careful not to make a mess and you don't get the most even coat of sauce on the apples that you possibly can. I noticed some bites were slightly more or less tart than others because of the uneven sauce distribution. Something else that would have made this better for me would have been to bake it at 350-375F for the entire time, and for 20-30 minutes longer, because the apples could have been a bit softer. They were JUST soft enough for me. If they would have been any more firm, this would have been a 3-star pie. Although this was good apple pie, and I am certainly not disappointed, I don't think I'm done searching for my regular go-to apple pie recipe. Only after I made this pie did I notice plenty of other recipes that don't require an entire stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I love this recipe and is a family favorite. I want to know how to turn it into a cobbler just to do it a different way any suggestions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cristy Ortiz
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Great recipe! it was my first time making apple pie and it turned out delicious! Will def be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristy Ortiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
A great apple pie! I did add cinnamon, and the cook time for me was closer to 45 min once the temp was turned down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I will start by saying that I hate apple pie, always did. However, this one is amazing. I added a little cinnamon, and I didn't do the lattice crust or pour the sauce on the crust. I put all of the caramel sauce inside the pie and did a traditional double crust. I used gala apples and only needed about 6. It's so good. It's even better warm with vanilla ice cream. I'm making it again this weekend. Everyone loves this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Delicious! I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon, a squirt of lemon, and a tablespoon of corn starch and tossed it with the apples. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the Carmel sauce. So good! I've also added chopped walnuts to the Carmel sauce before pouring it over the apples. Amazing either way! Highly recommend! It's a Carmel Apple pie full of goodness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Excellent apple pie recipe. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,807) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States