Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Too buttery, no one liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Maybe I spent too much time on the lattice, but when I went to pour the sauce (which is basically a brittle recipe), it was too thick and I just had to spread it over the top of the pie. I knew after that to place a cookie sheet underneath the pie, and after the 15 minutes, I had to put a new one underneath because of the overflowing "sauce". I really need to start going with my gut instincts when following recipes. I would recommend combining the sauce with the apples, and reserve 1/4 of it and brushing it over the crust. I also must have a shallow pie pan, because I ended up with way too many apple slices (I'd say approximately 2 apples worth). It was just a really messy and bland pie for us. I have family coming over tomorrow and I'm too ashamed to bring this pie out for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Humboldt, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is the best apple pie recipe. I have been using it for a while now and it is ALWAYS great. I add cinnamon, pre-cook the apples (for all pies I pre-cook the fruit as it reduces the baking time dramatically) and mix it all together before putting it into the pie shell. It is a house favourite and I have shared the recipe with many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ku Zambia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I was kind of sceptical at first, because in other recipes you have to cook the apple with the syrup first and then add it to the crust and bake. This one saves you that step and you end with an absolutely delish pie! I used about 1 1/2 apples for a 6inch pie ?? and half of the syrup. Without a doubt this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ade Ramos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
turned out great! best apple pie we've had!! i did add vanilla extract, cinnamon, and nutmeg to the butter/sugar mix, used light brown sugar, non-granny smith apples, and a pillsbury crust. will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Added 1tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1tsp vanilla to the sauce as recommended by another reviewer. Amazing! I also used macintosh apples instead of Granny Smiths because I am not huge on sour desserts, but I think with the sweet carmely taste of the sauce it would be really good with Granny Smiths too, or maybe 1/2 and 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Always a winner this one. I have made it several times. I prefer not to use the lattice crust and just put a normal pie crust on top after pouring the mixture and I baste with milk and sprinkle some sugar. I also cook it on a lower temp as I find it overbrowns otherwise. Thans for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Oh. My. Goodness. Soooo good! I'm in pie heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlwichman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
So easy to make, It rolled out easily, and it made 2 pies (rolled it quite thin) This will be my go to recipe for pie crust!'Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States