Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I sprinkled apple pie spice over the apples. It really is an awesome pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by May Berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ToniOlinger
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
It is a fantastic recipe and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I skipped making my own crust and just bought 2 frozen pie crusts. The market didn't have deep dish so I had a huge excess of apples. I would only need about 4 instead of 8 next time. Or you could make 2 pies and double the filling part. Also upon making, I'm not big on spending time with cutting lattice crust so that didn't work out. I just made a few triangle cuts in the top crust and poured the filling in the holes. It didn't look great but it tasted great. The filling was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steaugel
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I decided to make this recipe today and it was wonderful. Are used Granny Smith and Gala apples. I added a little bit of vanilla- half a tablespoon and I brushed the top crust with whole milk before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made this pie for my son's birthday, and he said it was the best apple pie he has ever tasted. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I have made this pie a couple times as well. First, I stink at baking and making a crust look pretty. This pie was so easy and the best apple pie I have had in a long time. My Husband and teenage boys are a blueberry pie only kind of crowed. They LOVE this pie! Just make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Too buttery, no one liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Maybe I spent too much time on the lattice, but when I went to pour the sauce (which is basically a brittle recipe), it was too thick and I just had to spread it over the top of the pie. I knew after that to place a cookie sheet underneath the pie, and after the 15 minutes, I had to put a new one underneath because of the overflowing "sauce". I really need to start going with my gut instincts when following recipes. I would recommend combining the sauce with the apples, and reserve 1/4 of it and brushing it over the crust. I also must have a shallow pie pan, because I ended up with way too many apple slices (I'd say approximately 2 apples worth). It was just a really messy and bland pie for us. I have family coming over tomorrow and I'm too ashamed to bring this pie out for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Humboldt, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is the best apple pie recipe. I have been using it for a while now and it is ALWAYS great. I add cinnamon, pre-cook the apples (for all pies I pre-cook the fruit as it reduces the baking time dramatically) and mix it all together before putting it into the pie shell. It is a house favourite and I have shared the recipe with many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ku Zambia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States