Grandma Oma's Pickled Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I give this a 4 for simplicity only as I have not yet tasted them... but they look and smell wonderful.. I added 2 very small white onions quartered to each jar and a sliced clove of garlic. it looks beautiful in the jar and I cant wait to try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This recipe is awesome!!! My friends and relatives can't get enough of this pickled okra! People who thought they didn't even like okra have asked for some. The only ingredient I added was sliced garlic cloves. They come out perfect everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I also add a clove of garlic to each jar. My husband & I fell in love with licked okra on a visit to New Orleans where we had them served to us in Bloody Marys instead of celery. It's amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Alien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bellmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
These are amazing !! Made them a few days ago and my sister already requested more !! When my daughter said they were fantastic I new they were good, she is EXTREMELY picky ! So doubled the recipe today and made 2 more batches. Thanks sooooo much for sharing Grandma's recipe with us!! It will live on for years to come in our family !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I just put up 10 quarts after the 5 pints I did two days ago were devoured by my boys and husband!!! Excellent recipe. Thank you Grandma Oma and granddaughter... I appreciate you sharing your heritage. Make them! you won't be disappointed! Oh, I added a whole garlic clove to a few jars and they were wonderful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
these are so delicious thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
easy quick taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Excellent Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Franklin, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Love, love, love this recipe! Sometimes I follow it recipe as written, other times I add a whole garlic cloves, as well. LOVE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
My original recipe calls for the vinegar to be 1/2c white, 1/2c apple cider. I also us dill seed instead of dill flake. Then directly in each jar goes 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes, 1 garlic clove and 1 tsp-1tbsp sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States