Grandma Nena's Lumpia and Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Pretty tasty and easy to follow recipe. I would recommend boiling the chicken with soy or teriyaki sauce and water instead of water alone. The meat absorbs the sauce and tastes great. It also adds a great deal of flavor to the dish as a whole. Before boiling the chicken I season it with season salt, pepper, & garlic. All of the flavors boiled together are amazing. I also save the liquid after removing the chicken. When cooking the noodles with the veggies & chicken for the pancit you can add the left over liquid as you go so the noodles don't dry out. Keeps the whole dish moist and adds a ton of flavor. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Espino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
thank u so much for puttin this recipe out. i have been in love with lumpia and pancit for so long but never knew exactly how to make it just right. I made the pancit and lumpia as said, EXCEPT i add chicken broth from can to get extra chicken flavor and add a little bit of celery to the pancit. it was amazing. AS A PROFESIONAL COOK, BOTH FROM THE NAVY AND CIVILIAN WORD THIS IS GREAT!! this recipe is simple and easy to follow with a bit of common sense. thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I am a chef (retired) - and I think a cooking instructor should know that some people do not know how to adequately write a recipe. I find this recipe intriguing and when finished with fish sauce or pancit seasoning or any myriad combination of seasonings it is quite tasty and satisfying. I think that's what they mean when they say "season to taste." I also believe any decently educated cooking instructor would know that pancit is a noodle and the name refers to several noodle dishes made with those noodles or similar type noodles. Usually a stir fry with different meats veggies and noodles flavored with soy sauce and fish sauce. There are many variations. A good pancit is priceless and never a casserole. Spring roll wrappers can be found in Asian markets, some very large grocery stores, Wegman's grocery stores, or online. Bon Appetit RT Crum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rtcrum

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bellwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dunbar, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
ive been a chef for 20 years ...and i am a filipino as well. this is good recipe. no matter what the "instructor" below says. i feel for your students. thanks you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
The Pancit was very good but could not find spring roll wrappers. Been looking everywhere. i really want to try the lumpias. Can anyone tell me where i can find them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvfood82

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I thought this pancit was bland too. I think I will stick with using Mama citas pancit canton seasoning packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
CFELDHAUS does not know what they are talking about, cooking instructor or not. Pacit is a noodle not a casserole as another reviewer state. Lumpia is a spring roll wrapper. The lumpia was great. The pancit, was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I thought it was pretty good.... PS. for the reviewer CFELDHAUS...pancit is a noodle not a casserole, get your facts straight before bashing a recipe. You've been a cooking instructor for 13 years, but other amateur cookers got it right the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Very good. Almost exactly like my aunties used to make. Had to look up a video on youtube though on how to roll and seal them (with cornstarch)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Warning this recipe is bad. It leaves holes on what to do. How much is half a head of cabbage and how do you cut it? Do you honestly think 1 pound of chicken cooked in water is going to do anything? Then it was bland. I added onion and garlic to try to save it. Then 8 ounces of canton noodles do not need 8 cups of water to cook in. The recipe made it seem as if you should use all of it. Quite frankly I only used 3 cups to get the noodles right. Pancit is a casserole not a soup. The remaining half of the mixture is supposed to go into lumpia's (made with spring roll wrappers not lumpia wrappers) and the mixture is way to coarse for that. Definitely have to chop it fine. Good luck making this. I've been a cooking school instructor for 13 years and I had to really change it to get it to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States