Grandma Nena's Lumpia and Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I made this for my family's 4th of July gathering, and they are still singing it's praises. I'm constantly being asked when I'll make it again. It's not the same as Lumpia I have had in the past, but still a great tasting version! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
The person who thought the pancit was bland must have done something wrong because this was a wonderful recipe! So simple, yet so delicious. I wasn't sure how this would taste since the lumpia and pancit I've had in the past were different; but this just proves that different variations can all be equally delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
OMG this was so good!. I only used chicken. I boiled 2 pounds of boneless skinless chicken breasts in 1 quart water with a lid on and I used 1 package of preshredded cabbage and carrots. Since I boiled the chicken I used part of the broth as the sautee. Added the salt and peper and started rolling. I must have made them to fat becasue I ran out of filling had about 5 wrppers left over and no meat and veggies for the pancit. Oh well live in learn. Every one loved how it turned. Definitely a make again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
ill try it .i probe its delicious.....thanks. i cook it again this coming new year....HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Hi! I absolutely love this recipe! My family is from the Philippines also, holidays and birthdays are the best! By the way, if I could rate your Grandma's recipe six stars, I would! The taste brought back so many memories. thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
The Pancit was very good but could not find spring roll wrappers. Been looking everywhere. i really want to try the lumpias. Can anyone tell me where i can find them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvfood82

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
ive been a chef for 20 years ...and i am a filipino as well. this is good recipe. no matter what the "instructor" below says. i feel for your students. thanks you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
thank u so much for puttin this recipe out. i have been in love with lumpia and pancit for so long but never knew exactly how to make it just right. I made the pancit and lumpia as said, EXCEPT i add chicken broth from can to get extra chicken flavor and add a little bit of celery to the pancit. it was amazing. AS A PROFESIONAL COOK, BOTH FROM THE NAVY AND CIVILIAN WORD THIS IS GREAT!! this recipe is simple and easy to follow with a bit of common sense. thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I am a chef (retired) - and I think a cooking instructor should know that some people do not know how to adequately write a recipe. I find this recipe intriguing and when finished with fish sauce or pancit seasoning or any myriad combination of seasonings it is quite tasty and satisfying. I think that's what they mean when they say "season to taste." I also believe any decently educated cooking instructor would know that pancit is a noodle and the name refers to several noodle dishes made with those noodles or similar type noodles. Usually a stir fry with different meats veggies and noodles flavored with soy sauce and fish sauce. There are many variations. A good pancit is priceless and never a casserole. Spring roll wrappers can be found in Asian markets, some very large grocery stores, Wegman's grocery stores, or online. Bon Appetit RT Crum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rtcrum

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bellwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dunbar, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Pretty tasty and easy to follow recipe. I would recommend boiling the chicken with soy or teriyaki sauce and water instead of water alone. The meat absorbs the sauce and tastes great. It also adds a great deal of flavor to the dish as a whole. Before boiling the chicken I season it with season salt, pepper, & garlic. All of the flavors boiled together are amazing. I also save the liquid after removing the chicken. When cooking the noodles with the veggies & chicken for the pancit you can add the left over liquid as you go so the noodles don't dry out. Keeps the whole dish moist and adds a ton of flavor. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Espino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States