Grandma Nena's Lumpia and Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I made this for my family's 4th of July gathering, and they are still singing it's praises. I'm constantly being asked when I'll make it again. It's not the same as Lumpia I have had in the past, but still a great tasting version! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I have to admit that I bought the wrong type of wrappers. I bought won ton instead of spring roll. I think the flavor of the lumpia was good and would have tasted authentic had I bought the right wrappers. However, the pancit was really bland. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
The person who thought the pancit was bland must have done something wrong because this was a wonderful recipe! So simple, yet so delicious. I wasn't sure how this would taste since the lumpia and pancit I've had in the past were different; but this just proves that different variations can all be equally delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Lumpia is about 3.5 stars, I must admit I like the chicken and pork instead of beef and pork for a change, the Pancit is a 1 star at best. VERY bland, if I were to make this again I would make 60 Lumpia and forget the Pancit! If I were rating the Lumpia alone I probably would have given them a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
OMG this was so good!. I only used chicken. I boiled 2 pounds of boneless skinless chicken breasts in 1 quart water with a lid on and I used 1 package of preshredded cabbage and carrots. Since I boiled the chicken I used part of the broth as the sautee. Added the salt and peper and started rolling. I must have made them to fat becasue I ran out of filling had about 5 wrppers left over and no meat and veggies for the pancit. Oh well live in learn. Every one loved how it turned. Definitely a make again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
ill try it .i probe its delicious.....thanks. i cook it again this coming new year....HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Hi! I absolutely love this recipe! My family is from the Philippines also, holidays and birthdays are the best! By the way, if I could rate your Grandma's recipe six stars, I would! The taste brought back so many memories. thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Warning this recipe is bad. It leaves holes on what to do. How much is half a head of cabbage and how do you cut it? Do you honestly think 1 pound of chicken cooked in water is going to do anything? Then it was bland. I added onion and garlic to try to save it. Then 8 ounces of canton noodles do not need 8 cups of water to cook in. The recipe made it seem as if you should use all of it. Quite frankly I only used 3 cups to get the noodles right. Pancit is a casserole not a soup. The remaining half of the mixture is supposed to go into lumpia's (made with spring roll wrappers not lumpia wrappers) and the mixture is way to coarse for that. Definitely have to chop it fine. Good luck making this. I've been a cooking school instructor for 13 years and I had to really change it to get it to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Very good. Almost exactly like my aunties used to make. Had to look up a video on youtube though on how to roll and seal them (with cornstarch)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I thought it was pretty good.... PS. for the reviewer CFELDHAUS...pancit is a noodle not a casserole, get your facts straight before bashing a recipe. You've been a cooking instructor for 13 years, but other amateur cookers got it right the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States