Grandma Nena's Lumpia and Pancit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by globugg
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Delicious and easy to follow. The cabbage should say shredded in ingredients and i tried it with the thin noodles (bihon aka rice stick). dish came out delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Pretty tasty and easy to follow recipe. I would recommend boiling the chicken with soy or teriyaki sauce and water instead of water alone. The meat absorbs the sauce and tastes great. It also adds a great deal of flavor to the dish as a whole. Before boiling the chicken I season it with season salt, pepper, & garlic. All of the flavors boiled together are amazing. I also save the liquid after removing the chicken. When cooking the noodles with the veggies & chicken for the pancit you can add the left over liquid as you go so the noodles don't dry out. Keeps the whole dish moist and adds a ton of flavor. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Espino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
thank u so much for puttin this recipe out. i have been in love with lumpia and pancit for so long but never knew exactly how to make it just right. I made the pancit and lumpia as said, EXCEPT i add chicken broth from can to get extra chicken flavor and add a little bit of celery to the pancit. it was amazing. AS A PROFESIONAL COOK, BOTH FROM THE NAVY AND CIVILIAN WORD THIS IS GREAT!! this recipe is simple and easy to follow with a bit of common sense. thank u!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I am a chef (retired) - and I think a cooking instructor should know that some people do not know how to adequately write a recipe. I find this recipe intriguing and when finished with fish sauce or pancit seasoning or any myriad combination of seasonings it is quite tasty and satisfying. I think that's what they mean when they say "season to taste." I also believe any decently educated cooking instructor would know that pancit is a noodle and the name refers to several noodle dishes made with those noodles or similar type noodles. Usually a stir fry with different meats veggies and noodles flavored with soy sauce and fish sauce. There are many variations. A good pancit is priceless and never a casserole. Spring roll wrappers can be found in Asian markets, some very large grocery stores, Wegman's grocery stores, or online. Bon Appetit RT Crum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rtcrum

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bellwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dunbar, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
ive been a chef for 20 years ...and i am a filipino as well. this is good recipe. no matter what the "instructor" below says. i feel for your students. thanks you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
The Pancit was very good but could not find spring roll wrappers. Been looking everywhere. i really want to try the lumpias. Can anyone tell me where i can find them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvfood82

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I thought this pancit was bland too. I think I will stick with using Mama citas pancit canton seasoning packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
CFELDHAUS does not know what they are talking about, cooking instructor or not. Pacit is a noodle not a casserole as another reviewer state. Lumpia is a spring roll wrapper. The lumpia was great. The pancit, was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I thought it was pretty good.... PS. for the reviewer CFELDHAUS...pancit is a noodle not a casserole, get your facts straight before bashing a recipe. You've been a cooking instructor for 13 years, but other amateur cookers got it right the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Very good. Almost exactly like my aunties used to make. Had to look up a video on youtube though on how to roll and seal them (with cornstarch)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States