Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
OH MY GOSH!!! I tried another sugar cookie recipe and it didn't come out right. Then I found this one. They come looking, smelling and tasting like tradition sugar cookies! And they are AWESOME!! this was exactly what I was looking for for my christmas tin gifts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee McGee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
THE BEST EVER! More like 8 stars! Will never bake any other sugar cookie but THESE and I know my sugar cookies! Ok... because I AM the Queen of taking short cuts (and always in a hurry) here's my take on these! I mixed the dry ingredients in my Kitchen Aide. Blended the softened butter in with the mixer too. Added all other ingreds the way suggested... except... I hand rolled balls of the dough up and put them on a four dusted surface. I rolled them over just to get a dust of flour on them. I took a glass (bottom LIGHTLY dusted in flour) and just squished them flat! I picked them up with a spatula, brushed off any excess flour, put them onto the baking sheet. I baked them for about 10 min, but I watched them close after 8 min. While they were still warm I glazed them with the glaze from "Glazed Apple Cream Pie" (allrecipes.com), and put the traditional holiday sprinkles on them! FAST.... EASY..... AND OHHHHH SO GOOD! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
very good cookie. These cookies were moist and not hard to roll out. Not sticky like other sugar cookies I have tried. I also tried a different variation by useing 1/2 a cup of coca and a 1/2 less flour and made a chocolate sugar cookie and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This is the easiest and best tasting sugar cookie recipe I have ever tried. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This is the best sugar cookie recipe I have ever made. These cookies were everything a sugar cookie should be- perfectly delectible. I made these right in the KitchenAid, not with the pastry blender- and they were perfect. They didn't stick at all; the dough was such a pleasure to work with. My 2-year-old was able to cut them out with me. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This is a wonderful sugar cookie--crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. This cookie holds it's shape very well as it bakes, so it's ideal for cut-outs. I used the Butter Icing for Cookies submitted by Barbara on this site, and the result was delicious. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was a very easy and yummy recipe. I liked the fact that it was not necessary to chill the cookie dough, as I had only limited time to make cookies. I made star shapes and iced them with brightly coloured icing (red, green, blue and yellow) and put edible silver balls on the tip of each star point. They looked very festive for Christmas and went in a flash at the morning tea I took them to (lots of kids there!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
good, yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Simply perfect! This one is a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States