Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Delicious and easy. Because the recipe calls to 'cut in' the butter, I thought it should be chilled. My bad. It wouldn't blend until the butter warmed up. I added 1 tsp. of almond extract because I like the flavor. They taste GREAT and were quick and easy to make. Thank you for sharing this great recipe. This was my 4 year old grandson's first time making cookies for Santa. I guarantee that Santa won't leave a single crumb on the plate ;¬D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
i so love thoose cookies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is a really good sugar cookie. I am an inexperienced baker and I only got 38 cookies out of the recipe. My kids and I enjoyed making them and they tasted great too. I really only needed 6 1/2 minutes in my convection oven at that temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymadness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This cookie actually TASTES good - doesn't seem as bland as some sugar cookies. Texture and flavor blend well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
After scouring through all the sugar cookie receipes last year, having never made them before, I decided to make a batch of this recipe for all the family last christmas....it was fantastic. So easy to make, the shapes held well, and my 4 year old son adored getting involved in the decorating too. I got rave reviews from everyone, so I wont even bother trying any others since these turned out so perfect. This is definitely going to be my traditional sugar cookie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Great cookies, easy to make. I added zest from a orange to give it the real old fashioned cookie I remember as a kid. I use powdered sugar to roll out the cookies instead of flour. This is a bakers secret I learned when working as a baker in college years ago..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made this cookies for my son's cub scout x-mas party and they loved them. Did put the dough in the freezer for about 20mins and baked them for 15mins but they came out great. Crispy on the outside edges but soft enough to melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zeezeebaker
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These cookies are very easy to make. We chilled some of the dough briefly (mainly because there was so much that I couldn't roll it all out at once), but it rolled out well at room temperature. We made one batch with butter flavored crisco and vanilla soy milk because I am allergic to dairy -- and they came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
easy to work with. quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I tried this recipe based on the large number of glowing reviews. I followed it exactly as written. The dough was sticky and difficult to work with, even after refrigerated for 3 hours. This was a real problem for my cookie baking party with young children. I will say that it was tasty and the cookies kept their shape nicely. But I won't be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States