Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Very Good! I made them last night and they are all gone today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
These cookies always come out great. I think the cream really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINKRBELL23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
These were the best sugar cookies, moist and just the right amount of sweetness, even without icing. We made half of the batch chocolate, substitutuing cocoa powder for some of the flour, and they turned out great too. An unexpected butter shortage resulted in this odd combination: we used 1/2 part butter, 1/4 part Smart Balance spread, 1/4 part shortening, and to the credit of the recipe, everything still turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natasha
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made the cookies this moring with my 2,5 year old son. At first it was very sticky (followed the recipe step by step) The cookies are not so sweet and therby wonderful to put icing on them (the icing of Janice Brubaker on this site) I had to use a very amount of flour to keep the dough sticking on the table. Cutting the cookies was great and fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Pretty good, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but the dough turned out really dry which made them hard to roll out. The cookies tasted good, but I would try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
VERY GOOD!!! Great wiht homemade icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Excellent! The best part about this recipes is that the cookies don't come out super sweet so they are perfect with icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This recipe makes the most unusual sugar cookies, more like a biscuit than a cookie taste. Not sugar-y at all, but more buttery tasting. I added some lemon zest and lemon juice and had to add more water to make the dough come together. Very easy to roll and cut into cutouts (angels, bells, and Christmas trees). Tasted like a biscuit until I put frosting on the cookies and now they are palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
These were delicious! I used smart balance butter and whole milk instead of cream and they turned out wonderfully! I had a little bit of trouble rolling them out b/c the dough was slightly sticky, but I just rolled small portions of the dough between wax paper (and used plenty of flour) and stuck them in the freezer for a few minutes before cutting the shapes. This will definitely be my Christmas sugar cookie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States