Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
If you are looking for a cookie that tastes like sugar, these are NOT for you. They taste more like shortbread. I followed the recipe exactly and these came out better than I could have hoped for. You will be tempted to add additional liquids as the dough is very dry....DON'T DO IT! The trick is to work the dough with your hands allowing the butter to melt slightly. I worked the dough for a bit in the bowl then took out baseball size balls of dough to work on a floured surface. After a few minutes it was perfect. Like others have said, watch them carefully in the oven as they can go from brown to burnt very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Wonderful taste, texture and time! These were great for cutouts, were quick to make and easy to decorate. They taste great as well. This is our only sugar cookie recipe now. Take note though- we don't get anywhere near 6 dozen cookies. If we were doing small circle cooies, maybe 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is a really good recipe. The mixture ends up very dry, so I added 1 tsp almond extract and then slowly added half & half (my "cream" substitue) until it was the consistency I wanted. Not a super sweet cookie, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I thought this was a great recipe. I think the dough was a little to sticky to do cut outs, but I'm a little impatient when it comes to those anyway. So just rolled in to ball and flatten with a glass. The other half of the dought I added 1/2C chopped hazelnuts. made the cookie the same way. Then made sandwich cookies using Nutella and then dipped half in semi-sweet chocolate and sprinkled with more hazelnuts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I loved the taste of these cookies...more like shortbread, which I love. Anyways, I had problems getting the dough to come together. I followed the recipe the best I could, dont have a pastry blender though, and it was just so dry. Any suggestions? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Seem to be a little sticky, but may be due to my splitting the recipe in half and still having to use one egg. Anyway, all I had to do was add a little extra flour. No biggie. They're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
These cookies were not too bad... but very sticky. I had to add a lot of flour before I could do much with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pastorswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Great recipe! Basic, easy to follow and delicious! Excellent for cut outs too...we used Halloween cookie cutters but I'll be making these again for Christmas. Best of all, you don't have to chill the dough before rolling, just mix it with your hands to form a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sg
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
These were SO delicious! My daughter and I decorated them with the "Sugar Cookie Icing" recipe and they were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This recipe was awesome! I loved how it had a cakey tast to it but it was thicker than I expected...... whoi cares! It btasted SOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingstar13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States