Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I just made these cookies for the third time for holidays with my teenage daughter. I absolutely love this recipe. This is the type of sugar cookie you can actually roll thicker and cook onto a lollie-pop stick. It's great, and the only difference is in additional cooking time. The BIG bonus on this sugar cookie, as opposed to others, there is no need to refrigerate the dough before hand, it's wonderful. Highly recommend for anyone from beginners to those that have cooked for years! #1 in my book of sugar cookies:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I am new to baking so I still have a lot to learn. The width of my roll out dough...how do you make it uniform? As it is some cookies are thin and crispy and some are thick and soft...lol This is the easiest sugar cookie dough to make and to use. I don't even sift the ingredients and it still comes out. I have to triple the recipe each time because we eat the cookies about as fast as they bake. Thank you for sharing this recipe that is great for all level of bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H0neybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
They werent cooked in the middle and me n my sister did what it said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Just baked a batch of these, and they turned out perfectly! The only change I made was adding an extra half-table spoon of vanilla because I prefer very sweet sugar cookies. The dough was easy to handle, and they baked up wonderfully. Now I just have to keep my boyfriend from eating them all before I decorate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These were good cookies for decorating. They tasted kinda too plain without the frosting though. Overall they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This is my second time reviewing. I have been baking sugar cookies for over 30 years and this recipe is by far, the best I have used. My hints: Wash your hands thoroughly and use your fingers to cut the butter into the flour until it is like corn meal. Use the butter straight out the fridge. If the dough is a little softer and shiny, chill for at least an hour (wrapped in some saran wrap so as not to dry out). If it is matte and like play dough, you can roll it now. Using a thin, metal spatula dusted with a little flour worked better on getting the cut-outs up than a plastic one. I baked mine at 350 for 5 - 6 min. This was for thinner, crisper cookies rather than soft. Watch the batch closely and allow it to brown slightly if at all. Allow the cookies to finish baking on the cookie sheet for about 5 minutes. Let it cool completely on the cookie rack. I did not have cream but had a can of low-fat coconut milk and used that. My gosh, I think that might be a secret ingredient for sure. It added a neat creaminess and a flavor but it did not taste like coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvainia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Several years ago I threw out all my recipes that needed to be rolled out. I never had any luck with them. Today I watched my 3 yr old grandson roll this recipe out and now know there is hope for me. This cookie recipe is so easy and you end up with great sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This recipe was just what I was looking for: a not-too-sweet sugar cookie. I substituted 1/2 & 1/2 for the cream because I didn't have cream. They turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I made these cookies in a pinch because my usual recipe calls for sweetened condensed milk and I was all out, I saw it calls for cream and thought the tastes may be similar. These cookies are very easy and VERY tasty, we enjoyed them alot maybe even too much because they lasted just 2 days! Yum and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is the closet anyone has come to my grandmother's recipe. I can't wait to try it! Now I just need to find her frosting. (she past away when I was young and didn't care about baking, and no one has her recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States