Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Just baked a batch of these, and they turned out perfectly! The only change I made was adding an extra half-table spoon of vanilla because I prefer very sweet sugar cookies. The dough was easy to handle, and they baked up wonderfully. Now I just have to keep my boyfriend from eating them all before I decorate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These were good cookies for decorating. They tasted kinda too plain without the frosting though. Overall they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This is my second time reviewing. I have been baking sugar cookies for over 30 years and this recipe is by far, the best I have used. My hints: Wash your hands thoroughly and use your fingers to cut the butter into the flour until it is like corn meal. Use the butter straight out the fridge. If the dough is a little softer and shiny, chill for at least an hour (wrapped in some saran wrap so as not to dry out). If it is matte and like play dough, you can roll it now. Using a thin, metal spatula dusted with a little flour worked better on getting the cut-outs up than a plastic one. I baked mine at 350 for 5 - 6 min. This was for thinner, crisper cookies rather than soft. Watch the batch closely and allow it to brown slightly if at all. Allow the cookies to finish baking on the cookie sheet for about 5 minutes. Let it cool completely on the cookie rack. I did not have cream but had a can of low-fat coconut milk and used that. My gosh, I think that might be a secret ingredient for sure. It added a neat creaminess and a flavor but it did not taste like coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvainia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Several years ago I threw out all my recipes that needed to be rolled out. I never had any luck with them. Today I watched my 3 yr old grandson roll this recipe out and now know there is hope for me. This cookie recipe is so easy and you end up with great sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This recipe was just what I was looking for: a not-too-sweet sugar cookie. I substituted 1/2 & 1/2 for the cream because I didn't have cream. They turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I made these cookies in a pinch because my usual recipe calls for sweetened condensed milk and I was all out, I saw it calls for cream and thought the tastes may be similar. These cookies are very easy and VERY tasty, we enjoyed them alot maybe even too much because they lasted just 2 days! Yum and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is the closet anyone has come to my grandmother's recipe. I can't wait to try it! Now I just need to find her frosting. (she past away when I was young and didn't care about baking, and no one has her recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was a perfect recipe when my daughter decided she wanted to make sugar cookies! She's only 2 and has no patience for refrigerating the dough. This dough doesn't need refrigeration and is easy to roll out and cut! Plus, they're yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I'm rating these on based on a comparison of what I wanted from these to what I got. I was looking for a relatively thick sugar cookie that could be used for cutouts. I got the exact opposite. The dough was nearly impossible to work with because it was so sticky, even after refrigerating for several hours. After baking, the cookies were super thin and delicate and not very easy to work with. Also, this has a more buttery flavor than a sugar cookie flavor. What I found in summary is this: you must bake sufficiently or they will just crumble (until the edges are pretty brown). These are more of a delicate teacake. I wouldn't frost them again. It just doesn't work with the flavor. Maybe some kind of light glaze, or they are just great plain. I'm definately keeping this recipe, but as a butter cookie. I will continue looking for a staple sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Faaaaaabulous! The recipe was fairly easy to follow and that taste is GREAT! I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitni

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States