Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
these were just ok for me! I had no problems with the dough they baked up fine and tasted average! I was not blown away by them mine turned out very soft and puffy...Im going to keep searching for the perfect sugar cookie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe is the best one I have tried. My family really liked them. The dough handled very well. I make them every Christmas now. I would rate it 5 stars or more if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I've been making my cutout cookies with this recipe for about 3 years now, and I'm so glad I found it! I use the measurements the recipe gives, and I mix everything with my hands (I think the heat from my hands helps melt the butter at the beginning, and since they're already messy I mix in the liquid ingredients with my hands too). You have to mix and mix and mix until the dough isn't crumbly anymore. It takes a while to mix thoroughly and become smooth dough, so hang in there! I sprinkle some colored sugar on them before I bake them, and keep a close eye on the cookies in the oven, because they will burn fast once they brown. The end result is an amazingly delicious sugar cookie! Great recipe! The only sugar cookie recipe I'll use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I tried a couple of recipes this year for sugar cookies and this was my favorite. They tasted great! The dough was a little hard to work with at first, but after handling it and adding flour, it was easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a good, basic cookie. It has a nice flavour and crunch. I found I had to add an extra tablespoon of cream because the dough was a bit dry, but that was the only thing I did different with this recipe. The dough handles well and is perfect for using cookie cutters. My only advice would be not to use small cookie cutters. I used a combination of small (~1 1/2 to 2" in diameter) and larger ones. Also, roll is out a little thicker than 1/8". The cookies shrink and when they are little, they really are little. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
My favorite sugar cookies so far! I substitute the cream for milk, but they are still awesome. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Thank you Grandma Minnie! Finally a good recipe where the cookies turn out soft and yummy. However... it does not make 78 servings! I would say a conservative amount would be 4 dozen. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Just finished a batch, lovely, delicious! Made Valentine's cut outs. Try 4 min in a convection oven. Easy to make. I think my Valentine will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Great cookies if you like them a little crisp and our family does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
GREAT recipe, thank you!It is my first time to try baking cookies.The dough was very easy to work with(I didn't chill it), the kids had fun cutting the shapes. I used almond essence instead of vanilla and they turned out perfect. I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States