Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I've been using Grandma Minnie's recipe for a long time now...it's my go-to sugar cookie recipe and everyone just loves it. It's not too sweet, so you can use a sweeter icing or frosting. It holds up extremely well, it doesn't spread in the oven (PERFECT for cut-outs!). The baked cookies freeze extremely well, which is so great for those of us who need to bake really far ahead. Just thaw and frost. They stay tender for a long time on the counter in an air-tight container. I absolutely love this recipe and refuse to use anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lilibeth:)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
its so easy,thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilibeth:)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davao City, Davao, Philippines
Living In: Wajima-Shi, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
These were perfect for cut outs. They kept their shape beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
almost exactly the same as my mom's, so naturally it gets 5 stars! Ran out of white flour so I used half a cup of whole wheat and they were still delicious. Melted butter/confectioner's sugar/vanilla/spash of milk makes a fantastic frosting for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I loved these! I made half of them with sugar crystals and iced the other half with "Sugar cookie icing." If I had it to over again, I would ice them all. I added 1 t. each of almond and butter extracts, which I thought was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catiebrooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Great sugar cookie, I made them into chocolate sugar cookies by substituting 1/2 cup of the flour with 1/2 cup cocoa. The whole house smells of chocolate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was my first attempt at sugar cookies and OH MY GOODNESS, were they good!! They deserve more than five stars, really. I was short on time so I rolled the dough into balls and smooshed them with a lightly floured glass, as suggested by another reviewer. I topped 1/2 of them with green sugar and the other 1/2 with red sugar and served them at Christmastime. Absolutely gorgeous and delicious--will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was a pretty good sugar cookie recipe but the cookies came out a little bit hard even when I decreased the oven temp and cooking time. I was hoping to have a more chewy cookie. Adding a tsp. of almond extract in addition to the vanilla helped enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
My search is over... I found the perfect sugar cut-out cookies. I did use 3 t vanilla, whipped, 4 T heavy whipping cream, 1/4 t almond extract & 1 ½ t butter flavoring, used 1 t coconut flavoring in cookie dough for added flavor. My husband was eating my the handful without frosting. MMMMM he kept humming from the next room. New family favorite. Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These cookies turned out great! I did choose to chill the dough for about an hour, and I had no problems rolling and cutting out the dough afterwards. The taste is good, and they are super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States