Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Great cookies, easy to make. I added zest from a orange to give it the real old fashioned cookie I remember as a kid. I use powdered sugar to roll out the cookies instead of flour. This is a bakers secret I learned when working as a baker in college years ago..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made this cookies for my son's cub scout x-mas party and they loved them. Did put the dough in the freezer for about 20mins and baked them for 15mins but they came out great. Crispy on the outside edges but soft enough to melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zeezeebaker
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These cookies are very easy to make. We chilled some of the dough briefly (mainly because there was so much that I couldn't roll it all out at once), but it rolled out well at room temperature. We made one batch with butter flavored crisco and vanilla soy milk because I am allergic to dairy -- and they came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
easy to work with. quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I tried this recipe based on the large number of glowing reviews. I followed it exactly as written. The dough was sticky and difficult to work with, even after refrigerated for 3 hours. This was a real problem for my cookie baking party with young children. I will say that it was tasty and the cookies kept their shape nicely. But I won't be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I've been using Grandma Minnie's recipe for a long time now...it's my go-to sugar cookie recipe and everyone just loves it. It's not too sweet, so you can use a sweeter icing or frosting. It holds up extremely well, it doesn't spread in the oven (PERFECT for cut-outs!). The baked cookies freeze extremely well, which is so great for those of us who need to bake really far ahead. Just thaw and frost. They stay tender for a long time on the counter in an air-tight container. I absolutely love this recipe and refuse to use anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tulips*n*Truffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lilibeth:)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
its so easy,thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilibeth:)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davao City, Davao, Philippines
Living In: Wajima-Shi, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
These were perfect for cut outs. They kept their shape beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
almost exactly the same as my mom's, so naturally it gets 5 stars! Ran out of white flour so I used half a cup of whole wheat and they were still delicious. Melted butter/confectioner's sugar/vanilla/spash of milk makes a fantastic frosting for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I loved these! I made half of them with sugar crystals and iced the other half with "Sugar cookie icing." If I had it to over again, I would ice them all. I added 1 t. each of almond and butter extracts, which I thought was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catiebrooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States