Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Best sugar cookie recipe I've found yet! Cookies were super soft yet not doughy at all. Only needed 6 minutes in my oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Great sugar cookies. Followed recipe except I used parchment paper (to keep from burning the bottoms). Took them to Christmas cookie decorating party. Everyone loved them. Not too hard like sugar cookies I've made in the past, but firm enough to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Meier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
These were crisp and tasty! We Made them for Christmas and everyone loved them. Here's a tip for rolling out sugar cookies: instead of using flour to dust the dough and workspace, use powdered sugar. It works like a charm. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
For the first time I have made and tasted sugar cookies and I am impressed. Great recipe!!! Fast, easy and really worth it. Dough seemed slightly sticky, but once it was on the floured surface, it was easy to spread and cut. Cookies baked lovely in exactly 8 minutes, and they did not change a shape. They have rich vanilla flavor and are pleasantly sweet. And my house smells like vanilla and Christmas even few hours after baking them!!! I will definitelly make them each Hollidays. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martina Zaujecova

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
finally I found the exact recipe we have had in our family for years but the pencil faded on the card and it was no longer visable! I have looked and looked and finally found the exact same ingredients and the exact same way of mixing it together. Thank you so much for posting this since I have to make these every year during the winter, ever since I was a little girl, and now I am 53 so you know this is an old family favorite! We always sprinkled with colored sugar before baking, they need nothing else! I do add more vanilla since I think the flavoring tends to bake out. by the way the recipe card was originally written back in the 1950's I think, it may be even older!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morrilton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This is a really good recipe but make the cookies small not big and put some nuts in the cookie that would be good These are really good With nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
These are absolutely delicious. I assembled them a little bit differently, I creamed the butter in my KitchenAid mixer, then sifted the dry ingredients into the bowl in stages. This seems to have kept the dough from being dry or crumbly as some people have said, as the butter was pretty thoroughly melted into it. As I was rolling it out I kept the bowl in the fridge to keep the rest of the dough from getting too sticky. Baked them as suggested by the recipe, perfection. Frosted some of them with a butter icing I lifted from an apple pastry recipe as suggested by some other folks (can't remember exactly which one, sorry!) and that was an excellent compliment to them. But these don't need the icing, they are great on their own. Oh, I did swap the cream for 2% milk as I didn't want to buy a carton of cream just for these, as I knew the rest would go to waste in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I agree with another poster - these need at least 8 stars maybe 10! Best sugar cookies ever. The only change I made was more vanilla. 1 tbs instead of one tsp and one drop of orange oil to brighten the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This recipe was delish and it was good for the whole family. Now I will never search for a sugar cookie recipe. I noticed shortbread taste but this still is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
these were just ok for me! I had no problems with the dough they baked up fine and tasted average! I was not blown away by them mine turned out very soft and puffy...Im going to keep searching for the perfect sugar cookie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States