Grandma McAndrews' Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Happy St. Patrick's Day! This was a perfect loaf of Irish Soda Bread! Did not change a thing. It looked like an artisan bread when it came out of the oven. Crisp brown crust and moist, slightly sweet interior. My wife and kids loved it. Tastes great with a little butter and was a great accompaniment to the corned beef and cabbage this evening. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this for the first time for our family's St. Patrick's Day dinner. It was a huge hit! I made a few changes: I didn't have raisins so I added 1/4 cup honey to the liquid ingredients, and used only 1/8 cup oil to offset the extra liquid from the honey. I used light olive oil instead of vegetable oil as well. It was light, slightly sweet, and had a great texture. We will be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Just finished making two loaves of this bread and after years of trying different soda bread recipes that I didn't like, this one is by far the best. Only changes I made was to soak the raisins in 1/4 cup Jameson's Irish Whiskey and 14 cup water for about 4 hours I used 3 cups all-purpose flour and 1 cup white whole wheat flour. The results are the best -- I'll keep this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Yummy!! And soooo easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I have tried many Irish Soda Bread recipes and this one is the BEST one I've made. My whole family loves it! My great-grandma McGuiden would be proud!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Hubby made this and I crave it because its sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This bread was definitely very easy to make. It was good, but personally I didn't find it to be any more than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINCHRISSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Needed to bake longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is an authentic recipe and matches my nana's recipe right from Ireland. The only thing is Molly McGee (my nana) would add a tablespoon of caraway seed but made sure others would be OK with it before adding the seed. I like it because it gives it a slight rye type flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent taste! Mine turned out a bit dry, so 4 stars instead of 5, but Hubs loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States