Grandma McAndrews' Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Hubs doesn't like quick breads of any kind, Mom and I were unsure of the raisins. Didn't look like this bread was going to make any kind of statement at tonight's St. Patrick's Day meal. I had low expectations, frankly. Wrong! Everyone loved it! (me too!) Other than using vegetable oil rather than corn oil, I prepared it as directed, then dusted the loaf with a little flour before it went it into the oven. I find it incredible that something so impressive both in appearance and taste comes together so easily and quickly and with such humble ingredients. It's really a foolproof recipe. I baked it on parchment paper, and in my oven at least, 35 minutes was just right. It's just a beautiful bread that is moist (because of the buttermilk I have no doubt!), tender and flavorful. Don't be tempted to leave out the raisins as I almost did - they really do add something in a positive way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
was a little doughy according to the original recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I have never made Irish Soda Bread before but this recipe is definitely not going to wait for the next St Patrick's Day! It's an excellent recipe! I didn't have any buttermilk so I made my own by adding a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice to the milk and letting it sit for 5 mins. before using it. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I used softened butter instead of the oil and plumped the raisins in a sauce pan with butter before adding them to the flour mixture. I did this "before adding the liquid mix". I find mixing the raisins in the dry ingredients easier than in the dough. I needed to add 10 minutes to the time to complete cooking, but the bread came out very well. It went well with the Corned Beef and Potatoes for St. Patrick's Day evening meal. Have Fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hal Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Wonderful Soda Bread! The texture was perfect. Lighter than most that I have made before and very moist. I did have to cook it longer than the recipe called for, though. Closer to 60 minutes I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe. I made this quickly on St. Patrick's Day, with a houseful of guests, when I discovered that the soda bread I had bought at the store had caraway seeds in it. (I've found a lot of recipes that call for it, but just not my thing.) This recipe was a huge hit! I needed to cook it for about 10 minutes longer than it calls for, because the middle was still soft, but once it was done, it was amazing. I'm making another loaf as I type this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great recipe. Even my 2 yr. old grandson loved it. I am sure I will make this again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I do make two smaller loaves instead of one big one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Followed recipe exactly and was rewarded with two perfect loaves of soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPsCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Although I didn't have raisins, I stuck to the recipe exactly (well, substituting veggie oil instead of corn oil) and it came out AMAZING! I combined the wet and dry ingredients as directed, gooshing them together by hand until it made a nice, sticky ball that I slapped into a lightly oiled, square little glass pan. I baked it at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes and it was perfect! Hot, steaming, moist and delightfully sweet...I almost reminded me of the taste of sweet cornbread. I made it with some Irish Lamb Stew from this site, and it was too good for words. Nothing less than perfection. I can't thank you enough for this awesome recipe!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TendoQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rockwood, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States