Grandma McAndrews' Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Wow - our first time making Irish Soda Bread, and it was a huge hit! It came out perfectly and was delicious hot out of the oven with real butter and jam. I'm not a lover of raisins in my baked goods, but did not mind them at all. Since every guest and family member loved it, it will be our new St. Patty's Day tradition :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this for St Patty's Day and it was delicious! I halved the recipe because it was only for me and hubby and it was still a good sized loaf. I baked it for 25 mins and it was done perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmillard22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerman, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great recipe and so easy and quick! Was a great hit with our family Sunday lunch. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
First of all, tasted great and was very easy to make. Howerver, I made this twice and each time I had to expand the timing to 55 minutes - I had a probelm getting the center to cook. The second time, I flattened the round more, so it wasn't in the shape of "a ball", and that seemed to help. We served it with a mint jelly for those who wanted a bit of sweetness with it. It was a hit, but that center is a bit of a concern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I have made this soda bread for St. Patrick's Day two years in a row, and it is always a hit! So easy, so delicious! I followed the recipe AS WRITTEN both years, and other than needing extra baking time this year (moved to another state and the oven here leaves a lot to be desired), it was perfect! Thank you Sheila for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made it exactly as written, and it came out perfectly! I was worried when I first took the bread out of the oven because it seemed undercooked. I let it sit for an hour or so while I finished the rest of the meal, and by dinner time it was absolutely perfect! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shesinparties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Followed recipe except I pan "warmed the raisins and crainrains" with a tablespoon of butter and added to the dry mix. Two loaves were made. Too wet to cut a "x" in top. The entire family and coworkers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
It took 55 minutes to bake and it wasn't as moist as everybody said but it was a heck of a lot more moist than any other soda bread I've ever had. I used dried cranberries because I hate raisins but other than that, I followed the recipe but the dough wasn't all that soft. Next time I'll reduce the flour by about 1/8 cup and see what happens. All together it's pretty good and the house smelled wonderful while it was baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is almost identical to "Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread" on this site except that this recipe omits the butter. I miss the butter -- apparently I'm just a glutton that way. This is otherwise very tasty (and much healthier and probably more authentic, too). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Great bread! I made two loaves; one with and one without currants. They were very well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States