Grandma McAndrews' Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Hubby made this and I crave it because its sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This bread was definitely very easy to make. It was good, but personally I didn't find it to be any more than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINCHRISSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Needed to bake longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Seibert

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Russellville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is an authentic recipe and matches my nana's recipe right from Ireland. The only thing is Molly McGee (my nana) would add a tablespoon of caraway seed but made sure others would be OK with it before adding the seed. I like it because it gives it a slight rye type flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent taste! Mine turned out a bit dry, so 4 stars instead of 5, but Hubs loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
People went crazy for this easy bread at my St Patrick's Day party. My brother-in-law proclaimed me the "best baker ever." What more can you ask? Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Made this ALMOST to the "T" as written. I didn't have any butter milk so I curdled 2% with some vinegar. Other than that, no changes. I made mine into one large boule and baked for about 40+ minutes. Made two for a St. Patrick's day party. Great reviews from the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Good recipe but hubby gives it only three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
After 5 years of searching for the ultimate Irish Soda bread, this recipe is the winner. I use half regular raisins and half golden raisins. The only other change is the oil: I used 2 TBS canola oil and 3 TBS applesauce to reduce the fat...no noticeable difference. Everyone at work LOVED this. Thanks to your late gramma for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortcut
Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I have tried different Irish soda bread recipes only to be disappointed in the past but this one is so good I might end my journey to find the best Irish soda bread recipe now if I can stop being curious :) I followed the recipe exactly but used currants instead of raisins which shouldn't have changed the end result at all. It's a big keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States