Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
Yummy! The best scones I've ever had! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
These are wonderful! I added in 100 Ghirardelli Milk Chocolate Chips, and made fresh whipped cream to drop on top of the scones. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gretna, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
super yummy and easy to make in you mixer and great just plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
These scones were totally yummy -- My step-son inhaled three of them! I had to cook them for almost 30 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
Fabulous recipe, though a bit on the sweet side. You can also add chopped dates, which is how I normally make scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
YUM YUM YUM!!! I love scones and had gotten addicted to the lemon scones at Starbucks -- they are nothing compared to these. I made new varietes based on this recipe by adding extracts to teh sour cream mixture just before blending -- lemon, cranberry orange, and cinnamon raisin. They were all great! These also freeze really well. I divide the dough into half or thirds though before final kneading and shaping as these were quite large. They still come out a decent size. Mix it gently lie pie crust, an they will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This is a terrific scone. I've made it both plain and with fresh blueberries. As long as you don't overwork the dough, these come out perfectly. Several people have said that these are better than any scones they've tried before. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
I have never made scones before and only just tried one recently. I'm not very good at rolling out dough, so I wasn't sure how they would come out. I was pleasantly surprised. They tasted really good. I did however have to cook them close to 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
Very Good. I used dough hooks on my mixer to blend. Worked great...also used a large cookie scoop and then pressed them down. I added mini chocolate chips and they were a huge hit! I will certainly make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
This scone recipe was a hit at our house. We prefer the scone that is sweet and not so dry, and this was IT!. A big hit with the kids. Definitely will add it to my favorites list. It's a good idea to divide the scones up between TWO baking sheets (wasn't clear in the directions); won't fit on one very nicely. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States