Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was delicious. I used cold butter that I cut up into small cubes and mixed with a pastry blender. Then I used my favorite utensil on a lightly floured counter (my hands) to get to the right consistency. I also added a zest of one orange and a few handfuls of dried cranberries. Yummy cranberry orange scones that my friends and family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyRenae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Wow. Just wow. I became more popular after I made this recipe! I didn't have any eggs, unfortunately, so I added milk until it reached the desired consistency. 3/4 cup sugar is plenty! It was really good! Moist... delicious... mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
We make at least 10 dozen a week at Sweet Arts Bakery, Avon NY. One of my best sellers! The beauty is that we make them on Monday and freeze them, then take the out and bake as needed. I've even taught them our baking classes. Thank you, Grandma Johnson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Ann Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Very good, but more of a cake than a true English scone, which is eaten at tea with butter/cream and jam, but pretty good nevertheless, and definitely as good as any scone I have ever had in an American bakery. Next time I think I will try cutting down the suger by about 1/4 cup especially if adding the raisins. Seems like the recipe should make many more than 12 servings. I made 16 very large scones. Next time I think I will make into 2 rounds and make into smaller wedges for more servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
We made these this morning with chocolate chips instead of raisins. Overall they were really good. I tend to like things a bit sweeter so next time I will press the cut scone dough in some raw sugar before they bake to make them slightly sweeter and add some crunch. Also unless we made them tiny (about the size of my hand)the quantity it makes is off. We got about 28 scones out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
First time baking raisin scones using this recipe. Both me and my husband love it! I'd reduce the amount of sugar to 3/4 cups rather than 1 cup if you are adding raisins. In addition, I think the baking time should be at least 22 to 25 minutes? My doughs looked undercooked when I checked at 15 minutes...wonder if anyone experiences the same issue. Overall, very nice recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
These are fantastic! So soft and moist, I've made them with orange peel and I've also made them with cinnamon, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is such a great recipe.So simple. The only thing I changed was adding blueberries instead of raisens. YUM-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
So delicious and so customizable with add ins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Use large bowls! And You don't need a whole cup of butter. No difference in taste or texture. Use 11 tbsps (1 tbsp less than 3/4cup)instead of 1 cup, make sure to cut in cold, unsalted butter. The edges of the scones are the best part so cut or shape them smaller than suggested, they double in size. These aren't super dense scones, but not too fluffy either. If you cook them about 5 minutes past done, they're even better. Next time I will exclude the egg for even less fluff. The Sour cream when mixed with the baking soda will rise and overflow if you mix it in too small a bowl (like I did). If making cranberry orange scones, I used the zest of 1 large navel orange and it was just barely detecable. Next time I will use 1.5 oranges or 2. Yummy scones! brush with egg wash on top before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsamii

Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States