Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
These are pretty tasty! Followed the recipe mostly. Subbed plain nonfat Greek yogurt for the sour cream, and added 2 tsp cinnamon to the dry mix, and 1 tsp vanilla. Divided the finished "batter" in half, adding 1/2 cup walnuts (finely chopped) and 1/2 c chocolate chips to one half, and 2 tsp lemon extract and 1 c frozen blueberries to the other half. Each half made about seven nicely sized scones; I just rolled the dough into balls and pushed them flat with my hand. Baked at 350 for 23 minutes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Rolled into balls and flattened. Made about 16 (instead of 12). Took longer to cook, 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Great recipe! I didnt have sour cream on hand so I substituted Vanilla Greek Yogurt.They were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahakes
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Love this! This recipe will definitely be part of my regular baking for years to come! Didn't have cream of tartar so I just put in one extra tsp baking powder. I wanted savory scones so i cut the sugar in half and doubled the salt. Also added a heaping cup of shredded cheddar. Rolled it out and used heart shaped cookie cutter. Perfectly baked at 350 for 13 mins! So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
We use chocolate chips instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Great recipe, my family loved it. Have to cut down on the sugar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is such an amazing recipe. First,i halved the ingredients because i did not have enough flour. I did not have cream of tartar so i substituted it with lemon juice (1/4t cream of tartar = 1/2t lemon juice).I did not have sour cream so i used fage 0% fat greek yoghurt instead. I added the lemon juice and baking soda to the yoghurt. I also used mixed fruit(sultanas, raisins and candied peel) and sweetened dessicated coconut.I glazed the scones with egg wash before putting them in the oven and sprinkled cinnamon sugar... so yum yum and scrumptious. My husbie totally loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Made these this morning! Followed recipe exactly with only one exception. for a slight modification I used craisins and orange rind for a cranberry/orange version that received rave reviews from my family! Will be making these again and again! Great recipe. Thank you or sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJR2D2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Easy and tasty. I used Greek yogurt (vanilla) instead of sour cream. It worked wonderfully. Split the batch and made blueberry and chocolate scones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,824) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States